Fun’s Over

Okay, I had a 3 week lapse that was frankly a blur of binge eating which resulted in a 4.2 pound weight gain.  My bad… But I’m back!  I’ve been getting back to walking with my friend at work roughly 2 times per day and I finally went to the gym that I signed up for almost a month ago…

I finally got over a head cold that wiped me out but luckily only lasted a few days. I was eating a lot of fruits with vitamin C, and drinking a shot (my brother’s idea) sized amounts of EmergenCy (I don’t know how it’s actually spelled…) by putting a packed of the fizzy grossness into a small amount of water so you can choke it down as quickly as possible. It really isn’t that bad, but I’d rather do it that way.  I also was drinking a TON of green tea and water and taking Advil Cold & Sinus and I’m thinking the combination might have helped me get of this bug faster.

Anyway, I bit the bullet last night and went to a Weight Watchers meeting where they talked about emotional eating which was something I needed to hear.  I know I’ve talked about the subject before but it’s a tough thing to have to deal with.  Aside from being an emotional eater, food is my “drug of choice” as my therapist says.  It is something that is on my mind 24 hours a day.  Even when you’re trying to lose weight (which those of us in this category usually are) you are obsessing even more.  Your mind is constantly going okay so this is what you’re having for breakfast and around this time you can eat your snack but try to wait until you’re really hungry for it even though I want to stuff my face RIGHT NOW.  It goes on like that for me pretty much constantly.  It’s annoying as hell, but it’s my cross to bear and hopefully something that I can overcome or at the very least manage.  It gets pretty exhausting!

I wanted to try having a smoothie straight for breakfast this morning to see how I do on them instead of having one with something else. It didn’t work.  I was starving after roughly an hour even though I had 1 cup of fat-free greek yogurt in it.  It was a very good smoothie but I need food to keep me at bay for the morning.  Eggs in particular are my go to protein for the morning.  They are the only thing that seems to last for me.  So coming up with egg casseroles and other egg dishes seems to be what I need to do.  Luckily you can make something like that and have it for the rest of the week and you don’t have to worry about making anything in the morning. So my goal is to find more egg recipes and have eggs and a smoothie in the morning for breakfast.

Today was my first day at my new gym.  I did 20 minutes on the elliptical and I already walked about 40ish minutes at work so I did pretty well with the exercise today.  I ended up walking 12,500 steps and earned 8 activity points for the day. Hopefully I’ll work up to more resistance and going for longer.  But for now that’s about all I can do.  And that’s okay, and right now, I’m absolutely beat so I need to get to sleep.  Tomorrow is my baby bro’s 25th birthday and I’m getting up early to go back to the gym with my mom and then we’ll spend the day with him and his fiancé and her son.

Good night!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Life, Motivation, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fun’s Over

  1. Good job for getting back at it! Sometimes a little bit of a step back is all we need to push those motivation levels up.

    I find smoothies on their own don’t satisfy me enough either. With regards to egg recipes, I really like making egg muffins! I like to stir-fry some veggies like onions, peppers, and maybe broccoli or asparagus if I’m feeling adventurous, then whisk up 12 eggs. I’ll mix it all and pour it into a muffin pan and bake at 350 for 20-25ish minutes. They’re great!

    Good luck with your journey! :D

  2. aberka32 says:

    It’s ok. We all have done it!! I am rooting for you!! You have already gotten back on track!! :)

Leave a Reply

