Weight Watchers Meeting- Portion Pro

It’s been another rough week foodwise. I made a casserole and eggs (which were so dry!) for the week but once I got home I would consume anything within eyesight… I got into this rut and now I’m paying for it. I both need and want to eat better because eating a bunch of crap makes me feel like crap.  Luckily today is pay day so I’m working on what I want to make for the week and healthy snacks to have for moments that I need to eat something.

I need to start eating less saturated fat too because my Cholesterol is on the high side (even though my HDL and LDL levels look great) and I’ve been trying to integrate exercise into my life so I need to lessen my intake of butter and even though I hate saying it, lessen the meat consumption… I’m not like a he-man meat eater, but I should eat more fish and beans for meals and less steak. Again, I don’t eat steak or ground beef every day, but I still want to lessen it.  Also, not that I’m obsessed with cheese but I’ve notice I’ve been eating a lot of it in the dishes I am making…

The eating showed this week as I gained another 2 pounds… It’s not only affected my weight, but also I think it’s affecting my emotions…  This week has been kind of a scary week for me.  I have had these irrational worries of my mom just dropping dead at any moment, or me having something deathly wrong with me post surgery and I had a good talk with my therapist about it and I told her if I can, I really don’t want to go back on an anti-depressant so she told me to try exercising for an hour straight and that cardio is best so I am going to work my way up to doing an hour at the gym.  Not all on the elliptical but I’ll work my way up at least…

So this week’s meeting was about portions and the importance of having a food scale.  I love my food scale and use it for quite a bit.  Weight Watchers came out with a food scale a week or two ago but I have the one before that and I am perfectly happy with it.  You can find out how many points something is by looking up the foods loaded into the memory of the scale but I just use it to weigh things.  I should try out that feature though.  The new one just has a bigger screen that’s now backlit and an easier way to look up foods you’re weighing… Pretty great feature additions but I’m happy with the one I have.

I find personally when you weigh portions instead of measure, you end up getting a little more for your serving so if I am packing up some pretzels or crackers or whatever for a snack, I’ll weigh it instead of measure or count out the amount because you get at least a couple more pieces.  For recipes I will always measure because you need more precise measurements (especially when baking) but the scale definitely is a key to my portion control.

Anyway, that’s about it from me.  I’m so glad the week is over.  This day was kind of depressing because of the rain.  It was stormy and dark out and I am so glad we’re getting rain here in California but it still can be kind of depressing.

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weight Watchers Meeting- Portion Pro

  1. ecologenna says:

    That’s a great argument to purchase a food scale- I think I’m going to get one now :)
    http://diaryofasocialeater.wordpress.com/

    • Shannon says:

      Awesome! You don’t have to get a big expensive fancy one either. In fact next time I get one I might not get the Weight Watchers one because it’s $40

Leave a Reply

