A Humbling Experience

I know I’ve mentioned that I have appointments in Roseville every other week, well I’m sure that you all figured out what it’s for.  I am seeing a therapist.  My mom has always told not to go around telling everyone but what the hell?  It’s not that big of a deal anymore!  Most people do go talk to someone at some point in their lives, and if they don’t, they should. 

Anyway, I’ve been seeing her for over a year now for multiple issues, but the biggest thing I’ve been trying to work on is becoming more of an adult. Don’t get me wrong, I love my parents and I think they did the absolute best they could with what they had.  Even though my dad had a temper, much like that of a child (he had frequent temper tantrums), and my mom battled depression, but even though we had our issues, we laughed.  A lot! 

We were very close, and still are. But I think I was a little too sheltered growing up.  Again, everyone’s situation is different, and I wouldn’t change it because I have an awesome relationship with my mom.  I’m also very protective of her and want her to be happy.

She’s gone through a lot in her life, especially these last couple of years.  She took care of my grandmother, she was always there for her even when we weren’t living with her, and she took care of my dad when he was sick, which in my opinion got her a first class ticket to heaven when she goes, and when it came time to sell the house (Started the process 4 months after my dad passed away) she did what she needed to do. 

She’s an amazing person and she doesn’t give herself enough credit. She hasn’t even had chance to grieve over my dad’s death because too much has happened with getting the house ready then trying to find a place to move, now she’s trying to get rid of her storage unit and find a job. 

As I get older, I realize that I’m like both of my parents in different ways.  I always knew I had a lot of my mom in me, I mean I look just like her. But when my dad passed away, I realized that I am a lot like him too. 

Okay, back to the topic of this post (I went way off on a tangent!), I have talked a lot about issues with my weight and she’s really trying to get me to become more of an adult. I realize that I’ll be 28 next month (holy crap how did that happen?!) and maturitywise, I am an adult, but I’m still living at my aunt’s and I don’t really have my life together, and that’s what I really need to work on.

So my goal, is to find a studio or a roommate by the time I get rid of one of my debts which should be in less than a year now. And don’t get me wrong with the growing up thing, I will always love Disneyland, and have a childlike enthusiasm for certain things (much like my dad did, he was child like in both good and bad ways!), but I need the balance.

She also called me out on putting things off…  I’m sure you can tell by some of my posts that I do that.  That was a humbling thing to hear. And, at least to me, I have some genuine excuses, but when I was trying to explain, I realized that it sounded lame…  That’s a big thing I need to work on.

I was reading one of the blogs that I follow and she mentioned that she is supposed to read a book called When Food is Love, by Geneen Roth and I read the sample I got on my Nook and I found that I related a lot to what she was writing so I downloaded the ebook version on my Nook and I’m going to read it and hopefully learn a lot from it.  I’ll keep you updated on my findings in the book.

Disneyland Day 2 will be up within the next day!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

