Detox Day 5 & Bridesmaids

I don’t know if you’ve notice from my blog, but I get to a point if I eat a certain food that I can’t even look at it anymore.  I’m that way with hard boiled eggs right now.  I had 2 hard boiled eggs every day this work week.  And, I love my aunt for doing that for me, but I can’t look at another hard boiled egg!  I’m going to make a batch of some egg bake over the weekend for my breakfasts next week so I don’t have to spend 10 minute I don’t really have in the mornings cooking my breakfast.

Since, I really was dying to change it up, I brought a few slices of TJ’s cracker cuts (I’m SOOOOOOOO glad they’re back!!!) and put them on top of the eggs and nuked them in the microwave for 30-45 seconds just to melt the cheese.  It was better, but I still was tired of the texture of the hard boiled eggs.  It was at least a change.  Along with that I had 2 Saturn Peaches (I’ve seen them called donut peaches too) which again was a nice change from the melon and berries.

Don’t get me wrong, I freeking LOVE strawberries and I could eat them everyday if I wasn’t worried about becoming allergic to them, but I didn’t want to get sick of them because I love them so much.

Before I got ready for work, I ready my cousin’s blog update which is about her journey with stage 4 breast cancer, and she was reflecting over the last year which I can’t believe it’s been a year already.  We all pray for her all the time, and we’re so glad to see the progress she’s been having.  It’s just so hard to know what she’s going through.  Especially since she has 3 small children (one in which is my Godson) and I pray to God that she get’s to have as long of a life as she possibly can.

You never know what will happen in your life.  One minute you’re fine, then the next you’re diagnosed with some horrible disease.  The same thing happened with my dad.  He had a fever for a few days and before we knew it, he was diagnosed with MDS (a rare blood disease that turns into Leukemia).  It makes you realise that you have to appreciate the time you have with your loved ones.  It also reminds me not to take things for granted.

Today I resigned my mom and me for the Light the Night Walk in Sacramento, CA which will be our second annual walk in honor of my dad.  We walked with some cousins last year and decided it would be a good tradition to do in honor of his memory.

I have two organizations that are near and dear to my heart because of him, the Light the Night Walk is one of them, and the other is St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital.  My dad was very devoted to St. Jude and when he was sick, he signed up to be a member.  He always wanted to, but figured since he was nearing the end of his life, he wanted to share a little bit with them.

Sorry, I got off on a tangent!  Anyway, if you would like to dontate, please do so at http://pages.lightthenight.org/sac/Sacra11/SGianatasio.  I would so deeply apprecate anything you could help with.  It’s such a great cause.

Okay, onto the rest of the day!

I took an early lunch with a friend from work to Mimi’s and had broiled salmon with brown rice and steamed vegetables.

I was so good I even bypassed the bread they bring. Their walnut raisin bread is to die for!!!  I hate raisins too but it tastes like carrot cake or something along those lines!

The waitress was really nice and even put the drink menu up to hide them from me!

I must admit I’m quite proud of myself at the moment!

When we left work the same friend and I went to the new Sketcher’s outlet and I got a couple of pairs of shoes for the upcoming trip to Tahoe, then we went and saw Bridesmaids.  It was hilarious!  The only problem is that they painted in there that morning and the fumes were almost too much to deal with.  We complained and they gave us free tickets for another date.

When I got home I was starving! I cooked some ground beef and beans and layered them on the rest of my Spanish rice along with some cheese.

I must say my eyes were bigger than my stomach, because I only ate 1/2 of it.

Now I’m sitting here watching past episodes of Drop Dead Diva, then I’m off to bed!

G’night!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

