Try New Things Wednesday

My new thing this week is the book “50 Ways to Soothe Yourself Without Food,” by Susan Albers, PSY.D.  It’s a small book that you can tote with you in your purse/bag and it not only has great ideas of things you can do to distract yourself from emotional eating, but also quotes from people who have struggled with emotional eating.  She gets into why eating is so soothing, how to differentiate emotional eating from true hunger, and of course all of the ideas to help you to comfort yourself without food.

I’m only in the beginning of the book so I will give you updates as I go along, but so far I really like it and I feel like she understands what I’m going through.  It makes me feel like I’m not alone.

Here’s an example of one of the Self-Soothing Techniques-

“Count on Your Senses 5-4-3-2-1

When you have trouble clearing your mind of thoughts of food, try focusing on your senses.

1. State one scent you can smell.

2. Name two sounds you can hear.

3. Describe three sensations your body is feeling, such as temperature, the texture of your sweater, your feet against the ground.

4. Identify four colors that you see.

5. To yourself, begin by naming five things you see in front of you.

When you finish doing this, it’s likely that you will be thinking about nothing, not even food–unless there’s food directly in front of you.  If you are still thinking about food, repeat each step until you notice that your thoughts are less clouded by food cravings.”

I’ve thought about trying to find things to distract me but I never thought about there being a book about it.  I’m really looking forward to reading this book and I think it will give me a lot of ideas of what to do to deter from emotional eating.

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

