Weight Watchers Tuesday and My 100th Post

I can’t believe I’m at #100!

Anyway, my weigh in was very successful this week.  I lost 5 pounds!  FIVE pounds!  I really need to focus on things that trigger my emotional eating and read more of that book and practice the ideas in it for when I want to go buy a whole cake and shove fistfulls into my gullet.

Today’s meeting was about meatless options.  Not necessarily encouraging becoming a vegetarian, but maybe having a meatless day once in a while.  Our leader is a big meat person so she wasn’t wild about the idea but she said she did have one meatless day and was perfectly fine with it.

Being Catholic, we are supposed to refrain from eating meat on Fridays during lent as well as Ash Wednesday and Good Friday so I know I can do it.  It’s not that hard, but we did talk about the fact that you have to find other ways of getting protein into your diet, and also that you can tend to go on a carb overload when people first become vegetarians so to watch the intake of carbohydrates when you do so.

I can see how that can happen too, but it’s easy to get protein in.  There are a lot of plant based foods out there that are full of protein such as tofu (I hate, but it’s still loaded with protein), tempeh (haven’t tried but want to), beans, quinoa, nuts and nut butters, etc.

I have actually been thinking a little about at least lessening my meat intake, not going vegetarian, I love steak too much to do so, but incorporating more plant based protein into my diet.

Well, that’s all from me for now.  Time to hop in the shower and go to bed.

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

