Weight Watcher Thursday

Oops!  I missed two posts! Sorry ’bout that!  I’ve spent all of my spear time looking for apartments and reading a 500 page book for my first ever book club meeting tomorrow.  Newsflash?  I’m on 119!  Eeks!  Well, it’s hard for me to read, so I hope they aren’t pissy because I really want to go to meet people.  I’m going to finish the book, but just not by tomorrow night…

It was my fault since I waited until two weeks ago…  Then, adding that it was hard to read for me (Please tell me I’m not the only one who has those kinds of books where it’s hard to grab onto?) I should have spent the whole month.

Anyway, I had a nice weekend in Lincoln.  We watched The Italian Job and The Courtship of Eddie’s Father.  I have seen The Italian Job a couple of times before but I must say this was the first time that I really paid attention to it.  It’s a great movie.  The Courtship of Eddie’s Father is about a boy who is trying to set up his widowed father with the neighbor across the hall.  It’s with Ron Howard as a little boy.  Too cute!

We had the most amazing marinated flank steak with my great uncle’s (never met him, he passed away in the 60s) “green cakes” they are savory swiss chard pancakes, and this corn, canadian bacon, and shallot dish.  Everything was fantastic.

Saturday, we drove to Reno for the day, had lunch at this Brewery in Silver Legacy, and did a little gambling.  I won $124 on one penny machine!  That’s the third time in a row that I’ve come home with money.  Granted I net around $40 but that’s better than going home minus $60.

When we got back, we watched Strictly Ballroom, an Australian ballroom dancing movie. It was really cute.  It was directed by Baz Luhrmann who directed Moulin Rouge.  Then we watched High Anxiety a Mel Brooks movie.  Didn’t get through that one but the beginning was hysterical. Cloris Leachman played a weird nurse and she had this pointy bra on that reminded me of Madonna a la Vouge.

Sunday, we had breakfast at a nearby restaurant, then went over to the Cathedral for mass.

I spent the rest of the day reading and going through some stuff in my closet, not to mention checking apartments online, and trying to prepare myself for things I need.

Okay now that Monday’s post has been updated, here’s my Weight Watcher update.

This week’s meeting was about hitting plateaus.  Since, I’ve never really been there, but there were some good ideas for getting through that.  They mentioned that 90% of people who hit a plateau were being lax with the plan and suggested really getting back into writing everything down, making sure you eat all of your fruits, vegetables, lean protein, whole grain, etc.

I also got a new cookbook called Fruits & Veggies (Am I the only one who HATES that word!) A to Z.  There’s information on all different vegetables, and recipes for each one. The great thing was that each recipe is a single serving and they are really quick, and that will be PERFECT for when I move.

Oh, and I lost .4 pounds.  It’s not a huge amount, but I didn’t gain! Woo hoo!

This week’s goal?  Up the exercise, and focus on writing everything down.

Okay I’m out!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

