New Things Wednesday- Sausage and Tortellini Soup

Well I actually made a new recipe this week!  Woo hoo!  Now go by the actual recipe not my pictures because I screwed up and got twice the amount of sausage…  Yea…  That’s what I call one of my “Shannon Moments.” I have them quite often and they are usually worse than this.  Am not even kidding!  🙂

Okay, so I got this recipe from Rachel Ray’s 2,4,6,8 cookbook that my friend from work lent to me.  She brought some of it in and it looked really good so I figured I’d have to try it.  Go by what the recipe says, not my pictures I had to make a double batch)

1 pound sweet Italian sausage
2- 9 oz packages of tortellini (whatever you like, I got 3 cheese)
1 28 oz can diced tomatoes
2 quarts chicken broth
1 small fennel bulb chopped- handful of fennel fronds saved
2 large onions chopped
4-5 large cloves garlic minced
3 celery stalks with greens chopped
1 1/2 cups fresh basil chopped
1/2 cup Italian parsley chopped
Grated Parmigiano for topping

Brown sausage in a large soup pot over medium-high heat breaking it up with a wooden spoon as it cooks.

Add onion, celery, garlic, fennel, red pepper flakes, and a little salt and pepper.  Cook stirring frequently until softened, about 5 minutes.

Add the tomatoes and continue to cook for a minute.

Add the chicken stock.  Put a lid on the pot to bring the soup up to a simmer and cook for 10 minutes.

Uncover the pot, add the tortellini, and cook for 5 minutes or until the pasta is cooked.

Once the pasta is cooked though, add the basil and parsley (I used dried because my basil plan is looking a little wimpy and I was lazy…), then taste and re-season with a little more salt and pepper to taste. Chopp up the reserved fennel fronds, stir them in, and serve.

Serve sprinkled with a little cheese if you like.

It was pretty good, but a little too heavy.  I now have a ton that I have to eat too.  I’m probably going to freeze some because I won’t be able to look at soup in a little while!

Question: What’s your favorite soup recipe?

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

