New Things Wednesday- Bean & Corn Casserole with Tortilla-Crunch Topping

Well folks, to be honest with ya, I wasn’t sure whether or not to post this recipe.  Why?  I didn’t like it.  At all.  I decided to because maybe someone out there might like it.  I am not 100% against trying it one more time with a few revisions just for the hell of it, but it will be a while until I do that.  I will admit, I made a few mistakes.  One- I didn’t add any salt, and that was partly their fault because it doesn’t cal for salt or pepper…  So it came out too bland.  Two- I cooked it 100 degrees lower than I should have.  I read the temp too fast, but I don’t think that’s the reason it I didn’t like it, but I did have to cook it a while longer to get it hot and bubbling.

Anyway here’s the recipe.  It came from Weight Watchers Comfort Classics cookbook.

1 medium onion, thinly sliced
1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
1 (12-ounce) bag thawed frozen corn
1 (4-ounce) can diced green chiles
2 large eggs
3 large egg whites
1/4 cup 1% milk
1/2 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
1/2 cup part-skim ricotta
1 (15 1/2 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup shredded low-fat Mexican cheese blend
12 baked low-fat tortilla chips, crumbled

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees (not 275 like my dumb ass did!).  Spray a 2-quart baking dish with non-stick spray.

Spray a large nonstick skillet with nonstick spray and set over medium-high heat. ADd the onion and pepper.

Saute stirring frequently until softened 5 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook for about a minute more then take off the heat.

Stir in the corn and chiles.

Whisk the eggs, egg whites, milk, pepper sauce, and ricotta together in a large bowl.

Stir in the beans, and vegetable mixture.

Poor into the baking dish and top evenly with the cheese, then sprinkle on the tortilla chips.

Bake for 30-35 minutes until golden brown and bubbly.

I made a double batch (what a waste!) so I had 1/8th of what is showing above, but for a normal recipe it’s 1/4 of the dish.  It’s a good sized piece.  I served it with light sour cream and pico de gallo.

It was too bland and watery.  I didn’t like the big pieces of onion and bell pepper compared to the corn and beans.  Too big of a contrast.

Anyway, if the recipe sounds good, please try it.  My suggestions, and what I will do next time, are less corn, more beans, salt, and chop the onion and bell peppers, oh and less of that too…

If you do try it, let me know, I’m curious to see what people think!

Later!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

