New Things Wednesday- Pineapple-Ginger Upside-Down Cupcakes

Well, another recipe, I’m not sure I did completely right but they turned out pretty good if you like Pineapple Upside-Down cake.

This recipe is again from my Weight Watchers Comfort Classics cookbook.

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1 tablespoon finely chopped crystallized ginger (2-3 pieces)
2 teaspoons unsalted butter
1 (20 ounce) can pineapple chunks, drained
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup 1 % milk
3 tablespoons canola oil (I used olive oil and it was just fine)
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 12-cup muffin pan with nonstick spray.

Combine the brown sugar, ginger, and butter in a small saucepan (I used my Picolo Pot!) and set over medium heat.

Cook, stirring constantly, until the butter melts and the sugar is dissolved, about three minutes.  Now at this point, I must let you know that it doesn’t really dissolve…  I thought to myself, let it keep cooking, maybe it will eventually.  It did end up getting a little “saucy” at the bottom (or top) of the cupcakes, but it had a creme brulee burnt sugar taste to it.  So don’t do what I did and cook it until it looks like this…

Remove from the heat, and stir in the pineapple.  See, when you overcook the sugar, then add the pineapple, the “caramel” gets hard and does this…

Spoon the pineapple mixture into the cups evenly.

Whisk the flour, baking powder, and salt together in a large bowl.

Whisk the granulated sugar, milk, oil, egg, and vanilla in a small bowl.

Pour sugar mixture into the flour mixture and stir just until blended.

FIll the muffin cups evenly with the batter. I have to warn you, they don’t give you room for extra so be stingy with filling them up then if you have left over, you can divide it equally, but I would say put in just enough to cover the pineapple in each cup. (don’t worry, the cake rises quite a bit to be more than what it seems like)

Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, about 20 minutes (that was the perfect time for them too).  Let cool in the pan on a rack 10 minutes.

Remove the cupcakes from the pan and cool upside down on the rack.  If necessary, cut a thin slice off the tops of the muffins so they stand upright (it wasn’t necessary).  Drizzle any extra syrup from the muffin pan over the cupcakes (there was none for me).

But yay they survived!!!

See it ended up melting!  🙂

They were pleasantly moist.

Okay, I promised myself I’d be asleep 50 minutes ago!  So time for bed!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

