Thanksgiving Trip Day 1

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving Day! I’m warning you now that this is a VERY photo heavy post!  Although that may be a good thing if you like looking at pictures which I do.

My day started out rushing around trying to get things ready at my mom’s so we could get out on the road.  Our goal was to leave at 9:30.  We left at 11:00.  Is that a surprise to me? No.  That’s just how things roll with my family! Can I get up and be ready to go at 9:30 if I need to? Yes.  But that’s just who they are.  We weren’t in a terrible rush for anything.

Anyway, since Nick was sitting in the front, I had him take pictures of our journey down to our first stop in Monterey at the Monterey Bay Aquarium.

First up is a lovely view of Foster City Boulevard.

Foster City sits on a landfill and there are a bunch of lagoons throughout the city.

We drove across the Crystal Springs Reservoir.

We drove down 92 into Half Moon Bay and onto Hwy 1.

At which moment, Nick decided to set up the Tom-Tom.

Mr. Cool with his leather jacket and sunglasses.

We love drying driving down the coast.  I’ve always loved the ocean!

Cancer is a water sign after all!

Eventually, you have to drive through Santa Cruz which I’ve always enjoyed as well.

Then we were back onto the Highway.

Y’know, they said it was supposed to “shower” today, but it really wasn’t that bad…  Of course, you know any thing that the Weatherman says is golden so I guess he lied!

After about 2 hours of driving, we finally got to Monterey.

By which time it was a little rainy.

It wasn’t as cold this year as it was last year which was nice.

The Aquarium is located on Cannery Row. Made famous by author John Steinbeck who grew up in Salinas which is nearby.  He wrote about it in a few of his novels including “Cannery Row” and “Sweet Thursday”.

When we got in the Aquarium, we started out in the Open Sea exhibit.

You enter a round room with sardines swimming in a round tube above your head.

Up first were the Jellies!

I love the jellies!

I love the vibrant orange of this one!

This cluster of tiny jellies got stuck together!

The jellies eat plankton.  They don’t look like the evil plankton on Spongebob though…

Next we went to see the Seahorses.  I can’t believe all of the different kind of Seahorses there are!

These are my favorite.  They are called Leafy Sea Dragons.

I think these are pot bellied seahorses.

Interesting note about seahorses, the male is the one that gets pregnant.  They are the only animal that does so.

Here’s a regular sea dragon.  Has leafy parts but not as much as the other ones.

I think this is called an Alligator Seahorse, but I could be wrong.

And finally little tiny baby seahorses!

Nearby was one of the gigantic tanks they had filled with bigger fish including a sea turtle, tuna, and some other fish. There was a hammer head shark but I couldn’t get a good picture of it.

And whatever this is… For some reason, reminds me of a double decker bus.

Here’s a tank with another sea turtle.  Would have gotten a closer picture when he came by the wall, but he started doing his business, and I just didn’t want to see that.

Then we walked over to the bridge to the other side of the aquarium.

Gift shop!

They have life sized whales hanging all over the aquarium.

You can see into the Cannery Row exhibit too in the front of the aquarium.  It’s all about the history of Cannery Row when they actually canned sardines in Monterey.

Italian Flag! I don’t know why.

Look at that puddum!!!

This is a face only a mother could love.

Sitting in front of the other big tank thinking of what it would feel like to be a fish.

Nick PLEASE don’t flash the octopus!  I couldn’t get a picture of the octopus.  No flash aloud (as you can see) and it was too dark where it was. Plus, it was just squished into a corner of the tank it was in.

The infamous stairs from the fourth Start Trek movie. I never thought I’d say that I enjoy Star Trek more than Star Wars…  But as I got older, my opinions changed. What can I say, it happens.

Yep… Captain James T. Kirk and Spock walked down these steps. I have a picture of Nick, my dad and me in front of the steps when I was maybe 10.  I was raised by a nerd to become one myself what can I say?

Up next, the Splash Zone where they have the coral reefs.

I love hearing the children shout Nemo!!!

Of course let’s not forget Dory!  It’s the best picture I had.  They move fast!

Penguins!!!

This is what the underside of a wave looks like.  There was a small child in there that screamed so loud he practically burst my ear drum! Shhhh child!!!  It’ll be alright!!!

A mural of Cannery Row.

The Bird Room. It’s cold in there because the wall is actually just a mesh screen.

This was in Star Trek 4 also.  It was computerized to look like it was level to the walkway and they had two whales in the area as well. Obviously, you can’t really do that here.  But, there are whales out in the ocean in that area.

Then we were done and headed back to our motel in Carmel.  It’s right in the downtown area and we’ve stayed there several times.  We rested for a bit, then got ready for dinner at Fandango.

I had a lemon drop.  Not the best, but it was okay.

They had pate and kalamata olives on the table along with a potato bread and butter for those who weren’t adventurous enough (Nick).  By the way, the pate was edible, but I HATED the olives! WAY too briney!  I used to like black olives but I’m not an olive person anymore!  Blech!

Up next a spinach salad with spiced pecans and blue cheese.  It was pretty good. As you can tell, I forgot to take pictures of it FIRST!

My Ma and me!

Nick waiting anxiously for his turkey!

And here’s the turkey! It was very good!

I had pumpkin pie, minus the crust.  I don’t like crust!

Nick and my mom both had the profiteroles.  They abviously aren’t being very traditional.  Hmph!

Then we drove back to the room and plopped down and went to bed.  It was a great Thanksgiving!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Vacation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving Trip Day 1

  1. Prometheus says:

    lol, you put on one pic I took as a joke (the wall in Santa Cruz)

    • Shannon says:

      🙂 Yes I did! I didn’t think you took it as a joke… I thought the Safeway and Panda Express pictures were the jokes. Plus, it’s actually a pretty good picture from a moving car! (I totally just typed carl!)

Leave a Reply

