Top Ten Favorite Christmas Albums and Songs

Well, it’s Christmas time and I figured I’d do something festive since I’ve had Santa Baby in my head all morning (definitely NOT on my top 10!) and I really want it out! I am doing both Albums and Songs, because there are some that I can’t choose a single song from, and there are songs that I only have or know the one song and not the whole Album. As always, in no particular order because my brain can’t handle that much thought!

P.S.- I put a link to their albums on Amazon if you want to sample the songs.

10- Feliz Navidad, Jose Feliciano– this became one of my favorites when my cousin’s daughter (3 at the time) was singing the song and she sang it as “Feliz na ni na” and every time I hear it now (she’s 11) I have the biggest smile on my face and remember her singing “Feliz na ni na!” What about the rest of the spanish part you ask? She just mumbled out sounds because there was no way she was going to get it!

9- Home for Christmas, Amy Grant

  1. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  2. It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year
  3. Joy to the World/For Unto Us A Child Is Born
  4. Breath of Heaven (Mary’s Song)
  5. O’Come All Ye Faithful
  6. Grown-Up Christmas List
  7. Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree
  8. Winter Wonderland
  9. I’ll Be Home for Christmas
  10. The Night Before Christmas
  11. Emmanuel, God With Us
  12. Jesus, Joy of Man’s Desire (Instrumental)

I bought this album by accident because I wanted two songs that are explained in the next album below. Breath of Heaven (Mary’s Song), is one of my favorite songs off of this album. It’s a sad sounding song, especially in the beginning, but then the chorus comes in and it sounds hopeful.  My mom has always felt a closeness to the Blessed Virgin Mary, and so have I and the lyrics in this song are just so moving.  It’s a beautiful song and one of the few that I’ve been moved by the lyrics of. I enjoy all of the songs on this album and I’ve been a fan of Amy Grant since Baby, Baby came out.  She’s actually a Christian singer and I have come to know a few of her Christian songs as well.

8- A Christmas Album, Amy Grant

  1. Tennessee Christmas
  2. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
  3. Preiset Dem König! (Praise the King)
  4. Emmanuel
  5. Little Town
  6. Christmas Hymn
  7. Love Has Come
  8. Sleigh Ride
  9. The Christmas Song
  10. Heirlooms
  11. A Mighty Fortress Is Our God/Angels We Have Heard On High

I used to hate Heirlooms when I was younger but I have grown to love it.  I sang this song as well as Emmanuel at my fifth grade Christmas Choir at Ralston Hall (A mansion on our school property) when I was still in Catholic School.  I didn’t sing it alone, it was with the rest of my class and our first grade partners.  Now, this song makes me tear up because I’m a very nostalgic person, and this song is about what’s the most special to you.

I LOVED Emmanuel growing up, and it was my favorite when singing in the choir.  I didn’t like slow songs when I was little and this was a more up beat song and I love the beat of this song.  Both of Amy Grant’s albums I’ve listed are a big part of my Christmas Season and have to be played every year!

7- Holiday Sing Along with Mitch, Mitch Miller

  1. Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town
  2. Frosty the Snowman
  3. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus
  4. Sleigh Ride
  5. Must Be Santa
  6. The Christmas Song
  7. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer
  8. The Twelve Days of Christmas
  9. Winter Wonderland
  10. Let it Snow! Let it Snow! Let it Snow!
  11. Silver Bells
  12. Jingle Bells
  13. White Christmas
  14. Deck the Halls With Boughs of Holly
  15. Silient Night, Holy Night
  16. Auld Lang Syne

I can’t choose a favorite song from this album.  The whole thing is a TOTAL reminder of my childhood.  Holiday Sing Along with Mitch and Christmas with Conniff are the two most nostalgic albums of my childhood.  I’ve been listening to them since I was a baby. Some of the more upbeat songs like Santa Clause is Coming to Town I used to dance to when I was a baby and my parents nicknamed the dance the “Shannon Shuffle.” I’d go from foot to foot, leaning side to side.  When I was in my crib I’d go really fast!

6- Christmas with Conniff, The Ray Conniff Singers

  1. Jingle Bells
  2. Silver Bells
  3. Frosty the Snowman
  4. White Christmas
  5. Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town
  6. The Christmas Song
  7. Here Comes Santa Claus
  8. Winter Wonderland
  9. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer
  10. Christmas Bride
  11. Sleigh Ride
  12. Greensleeves (What Child is This)

As mentioned above, one of my most remembered albums of my Childhood.  Another album that I really can’t choose a favorite from.  It all reminds me of when I was little and decorating our home and how excited I’d be for Christmas to come.

5- O’Come, O’Come, Emmanuel, Erin O’Donnell– I heard this song while flipping through the channels trying to find something to listen to, obviously one year during Christmas time, and I’d never heard this song before, but I loved the melody, and so far from the versions I’ve heard, this is my favorite. I’ll listen to it all year long.

4- My Kind of Christmas, Christina Aguilera

  1. Christmas Time
  2. This Year
  3. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  4. Angels We Have Heard on High
  5. Merry Christmas, Baby
  6. O Holy Night
  7. These are the Special Times
  8. This Christmas
  9. The Christmas Song
  10. X’Tina’s Xmas
  11. The Christmas Song (Holiday Remix)

This album is sort of my guilty pleasure of the list.  I’m not a big fan of a lot of the pop stars out there now, but I’ve always been a big fan of Christina Aguilera.  She has the best voice of anyone of our generation, and she sings this album very well.  My favorite song is Merry Christmas, Baby.  It’s very blusy and this whole album just suits her very well.

 3- Ave Maria, Celine Dion- I LOVE  Ave Maria, and Celine’s version is my favorite.  I listen to it all the time.  If I ever get married someday, I’m going to walk down the isle to Ave Maria.  It’s a classically beautiful song.

2- ’tis the Season, Celtic Christmas

  1. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  2. Good King Wenceslas/We Three Kings/Sussex Carol
  3. Angels We Have Heard on High/O’Carolan’s
  4. Coventry Carol/Nowell Sing We Clear
  5. Hark, The Herald Angels Sing
  6. What Child is This/The Greensleeves Jigs
  7. That Night in Bethlehem/Wexford Carol
  8. Joy to the World/ Ding Dong Merrily on HIgh
  9. O Come, O Come Emmanuel
  10. Here We Come A’Wassailing/The Ale is Dear
  11. The Christ Child’s Lullaby/Lauda
  12. Jingle Bells/Shandon Bells
  13. I Wonder as I Wander
  14. We Wish You a Merry Christmas/Good Christian Men, Rejoice

I LOVE Celtic music, especially Celtic Christmas music.  This is one of my favorite albums.  It’s hard to find, they do have it on Amazon.  They might even have it on iTunes, but I don’t know… Okay, they don’t. BUT you can get it on amazon. I got it back when the Nature Company was around.  Do you remember that store?  I LOVED that store! I wish it was

And finally…

1- Walkin’ Round in Women’s Underwear, Bob River’s– C’mon I had to put a funny one in there!  My mom and I would crack up every time that song was on the radio!

Okay, there’s my list! What are your favorite Christmas Songs/Albums?

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

