Thanksgiving Trip Day 2

Our second day in Carmel we spent shopping around the town. We stayed at The Coachman’s Inn.

It’s an adorable little inn and we’ve stayed there for the last few years.

They give you a free continental breakfast but I knew I needed protein so I made a batch of the chile egg puff “muffins” for breakfast.

After breakfast and getting ready (around 11 o’clock) and went into a few of our favorite shops.

Of course I immediately had to take some floral pictures!

Avant Garden is a shop filled with a  bunch of nick nacky things, mainly decorating for your home.  We went there during the day even though this is a night time picture.

Next we went into Carriagg’s which (at least at this time of year) is a very Christmassy store.  They have a furniture and other things to decorate your home with.  We’ve never bought anything there and they are a tad snooty, but we still like looking around.

It’s a tight squeeze because of all of the stuff in the store. I love the theme of some of the trees.

Happy Birthday Tree

I think this is a Hawaiian Tree.  I realized a little later on that SOMEONE put their finger on the lens and got some oil on it and it wasn’t me!!!

I’m calling this the Hat Tree! I REALLY wanted to buy one of those hats.  It would have made a really cute tree topper.

Peacock Tree!

They also sell Mark Robert’s faeries, elves, and Santas.  I have 5 or 6 of his faeries for different occasions and I love them.  I used to get them at this store called William Glen in Sacramento but it’s closed now… 😦 I can still find some in Nordstrom at Christmas, and places like this.

After shopping around a little, we went and had lunch at Patisserie Boissiere. A cute little Patisserie/Cafe that has fantastic French Onion Soup.

First another flower picture!

I got an iced tea.

They had a pretty flower arrangement at the table.

I ordered the French Onion soup with a garden salad that had their specialty creamy vinaigrette.It was filled with carrots, cucumber, onion, jicama, and tomatoes, which I picked out as I don’t like raw tomatoes.  It was a great meal!

We did get dessert to go before we left.  I should have gotten a picture of the dessert case before we left, but this is the best I got.

More flowers!

I love all of the little nooks and crannies of downtown Carmel.

We continued to walk around, went back to rest a bit and get ready for dinner at Flaherty’s Seafood Grill.

We started out with fried calamari.

Nick was trying to take an obnoxious picture of me and my mom so she hid her face!

I had a scampi pasta dish and OH MY GOD was it good!  Too much sauce though, I promise that’s not ALL butter!  And they must have put a head of chopped garlic in that dish.  Definitely not a date dish!

We saw this on our way back. See anything wrong with this picture???

Yea, very nice hu?  This is a very dog friendly town by the way.

We took a quick walk through Thinker Toys (yes Thinker) for some nostalgia.

That merry-go-round has been in this window as long as I could remember!

We got home and had our dessert.  I didn’t eat all of mine, but it was very tasty!

Then we passed out from a food coma!  Day two down, one and 1/2 more to go!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Vacation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

