Random Thursday (I mean Friday) – Christmas Detox

Well Christmas is over, even though evidence of it is still all over the place.  People are slowly starting to pack up all of their Christmas stuff, radio stations are back to normal, and everything seems so much quieter than before. To be honest, I’m kind of glad it’s over.  Every year I tell myself I’m going to be more organized and get my crap together, but do I? No! 

I did forget that our Christmas will be extending just a bit into this weekend because I’m meeting my mom and Nick in Fresno at my aunt’s house.  Her daughter will be up from LA as well so we’ll have a little Christmas celebration of our own since they weren’t up this year. 

To recap, my Christmas was nice this year.  The only problem is that 9 people got sick.  Flu type sick.  Throwing up and all of that fun stuff!  Including my brother!  I’m just glad I didn’t get it because I don’t have any more time to take off this year (I only have two days left!). 

We spent Christmas Eve at my cousin’s house in the East Bay and it was just as chaotic as it normally is which is Christmas to me!  We are a loud family but we have a lot of fun. 

Nick got drunk!  He was very social which isn’t like him, but obviously it was from the large amount of vodka and lemonade he consumed.  He’s a pretty fun drunk actually. 

My mom got a nice buzz on too so I was the designated driver.  I’m not against drinking, as long as you can handle yourself, but I’m just not much of a drinker.  I have an occasional drink, but after 1, on a rare occasion 2, I’m done.  I don’t need more.   My dad worked in the wine business and they never acted like alcohol was a big deal.  They always told us, if we ever wanted to try something, they’d let us try it.  That I think made us feel like it wasn’t such a big deal.

Christmas morning was spent wrapping presents (yes, wrapping) and we finally got to opening them around noon (are you seeing the pattern with my family???).  After opening presents, my mom got ready while I made breakfast (at 1!) which was just scrambled eggs with basil, bacon, and an almond torte from one of our favorite bakeries in the bay area, Dianda’s. 

That evening we went and saw Hugo which was a fantastic movie.  Nick even enjoyed it.  He really wants that movie to win for best score at the Academy Awards.  I’m sure it will at the very least be nominated for several awards. 

Anyway, we had filet mignon, baked potatoes, and broccoli for dinner.  It was a nice ending to a nice Christmas.  My mom told me that this was one of the best Christmases she’s had in a long time and I’m glad!  Well, I haven’t uploaded my pictures yet, so I’ll have a more descriptive recap coming up soon!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Celebrations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

