Try New Things Wednesday- Healthified Beef Stroganoff

I had another morning spent in hell trying to turn on my car.  I really hope nothing bad is going on.  I’m going to get the oil changed tomorrow, and ask if they can check it out. I emailed my cousin and am still waiting to hear back from him.

Anyway, just before leaving work, I found a recipe on Shine from Yahoo for a healthified beef stroganoff.  I tweaked it a little to my liking, but I linked to the original recipe above if you wanted to go their rout.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb sirloin, thinly sliced
  • 1 lb mushrooms, sliced
  • 4 shallots, sliced
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine (I used Marsala since it’s what I had)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 12 oz bag multigrain (no-yolk style) noodles
  • 1/4 cup fat free greek yogurt


Put a pot of water on for the noodles, meanwhile prep the meat, mushrooms, and shallots.  In a large skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of the oil, cook the beef over medium high heat until browned.

Set aside on a plate.  Add the remaining tablespoon of oil to the pan and cook the shallots and mushrooms until tender.

Add the wine and cook until reduced by half.

Add the beef back and cook until heated through.

Then I added the yogurt and pasta to the pan.  They say to serve over the noodles, but I wanted to mix it all together.

Makes 5 2 cup servings for 11 points per serving.  A little high, but very filling and tasty.

Yum!!!

Okay, time to clean up the kitchen.  Wish me luck in my car starting in the morning!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Try New Things Wednesday- Healthified Beef Stroganoff

  1. bearrunner says:

    Looks delicious!

    cheers

  2. Shannon says:

    It was pretty good. The sauce was very tasty. One thing I wasn’t crazy about was the yogurt. It added a little bit of a tangyness and I’m not sure how crazy I was about it. I might try thickening with flour and water next time or even splurge on sour cream. Also, I would mix the yogurt (or sour cream, or whatever I use next time) into the sauce FIRST instead of putting it on top of the noodles! That was an error on my judgement!

Leave a Reply

