Friday Top Ten – Favorite Things to do in San Francisco

Happy Friday!  I don’t know if it’s my B 12 supplement or what but today’s feelin’ pretty good!  Especially considering it’s Friday the 13th! I don’t find it bad luck.  My dad was born on a Friday the 13th so it can’t be that bad!

Anyway, the top ten this week (which was inspired because I’m off to go there tomorrow with my mom and aunt) is my favorite places in beautiful San Francisco!  I grew up just south of the city but moved away six years ago.  We spent time there on special occasions, but it is one of my favorite places to visit.  It’s such a quirky and original city.

  1. Giant’s Baseball Game– When I was little, I hated any and all sports, but when I went to my first baseball game to see the SF Giants, back when they were still at Candlestick Park, I immediately became a fan. One of the perks of my dad’s job was getting tickets to go to Giants games, so we went several times a year, and they were good seats too.  I still remember how freezing it was at Candlestick!!! All of our family and friends KNEW my dad had something to do with them winning the World Series in 2010!  He was such a HUGE fan of them (and the Niners!) and they won about a year after he passed!  I think he was pulling some strings up there! We still joke that God finally said to him OKAY if you shut up I’ll let them win!
  2. Union Square – This is sort of our Christmas Tradition.  We don’t go there EVERY year, but we have a lot of memories of just walking around Union Square and going in the shops in that area, including Macy’s, and to Holiday Lane back when it was at the top of the building.
  3. The Walt Disney Family Museum – The Walt Disney Family Museum is only a couple of years old, but it’s filled with the life of Walt Disney.  It’s too much to see in one day.  It’s located in one of the old buildings in the presidio.  It’s way bigger than it looks from the outside too.  My favorite room (surprise, surprise) is the Disneyland room.  They have a 3-D map of Disneyland, with all of Walt’s’ best attractions.  So it’s not how Disneyland was at one point, but throughout his life while Disneyland was open.  You can see the carousel moving around and lights lighting up.  It’s very cool.  The one downside to this
  4. Fisherman’s Wharf – The Wharf area is the perfect place to go find fresh seafood in the city.  The wharf is also home to Ghirardelli Square and Pier 39 where there are plenty of shops and restaurants to choose from.  I highly recommend going to Pier 39 on a weekday though because it gets crazy busy on the weekends. I also wouldn’t miss up the chance of seeing the sea lions!
  5. Ride a Cable Car – I highly recommend riding a Cable Car somewhere in the city.  There are certain lines throughout the city that have Cable Cars but the only one I know of is the one that goes from Ghirardelli Square up Hyde Street.
  6. Academy of Sciences – We recently went to the Academy of Sciences last year around Christmas time.  We went several times when I was younger but they’ve remodeled it and it’s a very interesting place to visit.  They have several exhibits including the aquarium on the bottom floor, the rain forest which was a dome inside of the museum (it was very humid in there!) that has certain birds and butterflies and various other creatures. As well as the planetarium which is the other dome in the building where they play a video of something to do with space.  It’s a full circular screen and it’s pretty cool. There are plenty of other exhibits so click on the link to find out more.
  7. Visit the Golden Gate Bridge – C’mon, it’s one of the most famous bridges in the world!
  8. North Beach – C’mon, I’m 1/2 Italian!  There are some of the BEST restaurants in North Beach.  Aside from coming to my family’s house of course! You have to make a stop at Molinari’s also and get some salame!  My dad grew up going there for salame and other things when he was little EVERY WEEK!
  9. Visiting Various Hotels – At Christmas time especially, it’s a lot of fun to go look at the amazingly decorated lobbies of the major hotels in the city. My favorite is The Fairmont where they have a life sized Gingerbread house (yes, REAL gingerbread and candy and icing, and NOOOO I wouldn’t eat ANYTHING off of that! Do you know how many hands have touched it?!) and you can stop in for dinner or a drink at the Tonga Room. Other hotels to go to include the Mark Hopkins and St. Francis.
  10. Take a Ride – It’s always fun to just drive around and explore what a wonderful city San Francisco is.  You can even find one of the steepest streets in the world to drive down, Filbert Street, or of course go down Lombard Street, the windiest street in the world.

Well, I hope you learned something from this post!  If you plan on visiting San Francisco, please let me know if you went to any of these places! Have a great weekend!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Top Ten Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

