Weight Watchers Tuesday – Pile on the Power Foods

Unsurprisingly, I gained 2.6 pounds over the last two weeks.  I just had the “F it” mentality the first week, and this week, I’ve been sick as a dog.  So, my goal is to get back on track,  and get in some activity this week.  I am still a little sick, but I’m going to make an effort to try to get in a couple of workouts at Curves, if I need to take it easy, so be it.  Some activity is better than nothing at all.

At the moment, I don’t want to even think about working out because I’ve had a massive head ache all day.  One of those, stick to your temples, kill your neck, make you want to throw up kind of head aches.  Why, could be a combination of things including, lack of sleep (got to sleep close to 1 am!), glaring florescent lights (I swear those are a component!), and this damned cold.  To add one more thing, I hardly ate anything, and nothing with much protein in it, so I think my empty stomach drove it over the edge.

ANYWAY, the topic of this week is “Pile on the Power Foods.” We discussed several different things to help bulk up what we eat to stave off hunger.

Our leader gave a couple of examples of different meals you can eat for the same amount of points. For instance, you can have a bagel and cream cheese for 10 points, or you can have 2 eggs scrambled, a slice of whole wheat toast with butter and jam, two pieces of Canadian bacon and as much fruit as you want for the same amount of points.  That’s WAY more food AND it guarantee that it will stay with you a whole lot longer than a bagel with cream cheese.

Now of course, there will be some days you just want that damned bagel, I know I do.  I freeking love bagels, and I love that you can do that on Weight Watchers.

Another thing we talked about is bulking up meals.  For instance, add some steamed vegetables to a frozen dinner or pasta for zero extra points.

Finally, we just talked about getting in Power Foods as much as possible.  What it is essentially are lean meats and protein, low fat (not confirmed) or non fat (confirmed) dairy products, all fruits and vegetables, and whole grains.

Now, to get to my grocery list and make sure I have all of those power foods on my list!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Motivation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

