Weight Watchers Tuesday – Tips for Dining Out

This week’s topic is pretty big for a lot of people because we all eat out, and it’s good to know how to save yourself from all the fatty things to choose from.  I’m sure I’ve said it before, but one of the things I LOVE about Weight Watchers is that you CAN eat those things, you just have to find a way to fit them into your day.  But they really should be left for special occasions and not an everyday occurrence. 

What I like to do is look up the menu online (if they have it, which most do) and try to figure out what I will have before heading out to the restaurant.  If it’s a place I’ve been to several times, I don’t even need to look up the menu, I usually have one or two favorites that I know the points of (or at least the general amount).  Sometimes, especially if you are on vacation, it’s hard to do so, and for those occasions, I try to keep a strong mindset, and pick what would be the best for me. 

For example, if I sometimes order a burger (if I’m in the mood) and I’ll just eat 1/2 of the burger, or the whole patty and none of the bread, and if I’m really strong that day, I’ll order a salad instead of fries and pick a few fries off of my mom’s plate so I don’t feel like I missed out on them.  If I go to my favorite Italian restaurant, one thing I order the most is their lasagna which all of their meals come with soup or salad ( a few come with both!!!) and that choice will depend on the points I have or plan to spend for the meal.  I have lately been going with their salad (dressing ALWAYS on the side) because I always have 1 piece of bread with the soup so I have to take that into account as well.  I always eat just 1/2 of the lasagna too because I know it will be a meal for the next day and it’s possibly even better the next day.  (Lasagna always is!)

Tomorrow’s lunch will be an example of somewhere I’ve never been to, as well as a cuisine that is all together new to me as well.  I’m going out to this Indian restaurant for lunch with a friend from work, and I’ve never really eaten Indian food.  I have had a taste of Nick’s curry at Thai restaurants before and I know that’s a different form of curry, but I’m not a fan.  I looked up the menu online, and decided to either go with the tandoori chicken or chicken kebabs.  I looked up the points on Weight Watchers for both and they had nothing for tandoori chicken, but different Kebab points so I’m going to have to do some more research, and worst comes to worst, guess (because guessing is better than not writing it down at all) and hope for the best. Either way, I’ll let you know how it goes, I’m always interested in trying different cuisines, but I’m wary as well…

Also, NEVER be afraid to ask for things on the side, or cooked without oil or added fat, or anything else like that.  The fast majority of restaurant would be more than happy to do that for you.  You are paying them to eat there after all.  There are rare occurrences where they may give you a hard time or not do it, but if it’s a reasonable request, be firm and stand your ground.  Of course, I should practice what I preach, but I’m getting better. 

And how did I do this week? I stayed the same… But that’s okay.  At least I didn’t gain! Gotta think positive!

Now, time to catch up on The Voice!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weight Watchers Tuesday – Tips for Dining Out

  1. I agree, order what you want, you’re paying for it!

Leave a Reply

