Weight Watchers Tuesday – Managing Stress

Boy can I relate to this topic today!  With someone stealing my welcome mat (yes, I’m still pissed about that!), an oil rig cutting me off and forcing me to slam on my breaks, and plenty of general life crap, I can feel the tension in my shoulders and neck.  When I get stressed, I want to eat, and not healthy food, I want all of the crap.  I want cake, chips, cookies, bread, pasta, anything carbohydrate, I want it!

It was a good meeting today. Things got a tad emotional because it can be an emotional topic.  You can get stress from more than just daily stuff.  Starting in the Summer of 2008 up still through today, my main source of stress was my dad becoming seriously ill and eventually dieing, my grandmother dieing in the middle of it, selling my grandmother’s house after my dad died, worrying about my mom and brother, becoming extremely depressed and getting panic attacks, among other things.  Even though my dad had died at the end of 2009, I though things would be better for me in 2011 with weight loss, but that was my hardest year.  I could not get my “shit” together.  Thank God, I’m out of that now, and finally getting my weight back down, slowly as it may be.

Speaking of which, I lost 1 pound this week.  Yay! I do wish it was more, but I’ll take it.

We also discussed what we could do to help deal with stress.  We all get stress and for people like me, we really need to find ways to manage stress without destroying ourselves with food.  Here’s a list of some of the things we talked about.

  • Exercise- I know I don’t want to exercise when I’m stressed but once you’re done you feel SOOOOOOO much better.  Trust me, I proved that to myself yesterday.  It took all I could just to get my big butt in through those doors and work out at Curves. And you know what? I burned more calories in that 1/2 hour (374 I believe) than I have since starting the Curves Smart (you use a key tag to plug into each machine that keeps track of how fast you’re going and how many calories you’ve burned).  I was absolutely shocked and very proud of myself.
  • Listen to Music- I don’t think this helps everyone (at least I’m not going to assume this) but I know it helps me to just listen to music.  Especially my down-tempo playlist.
  • Keeping yourself busy- Keeping yourself busy with a hobby you love or reading or something like that can help too.  My favorites are crocheting/knitting, reading, and sometimes just coloring or sketching.
  • Talking to a Friend- Sometimes it’s good to just get things off of your chest.
  • Just taking time for yourself- If you just take care of yourself, that can help alleviate a lot of stress. Soak in a bath, treat yourself to a massage, do something to pamper yourself.

That’s all I can think of now, but you get the gist.  Try to get your mind off things. Okay time to put some of those things into my life because I’m still pissed about the mat thief! 😉

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Weight Watchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weight Watchers Tuesday – Managing Stress

  1. Sheilah says:

    I’m not a crafty or artsy person. Wish I were and that would keep my hands busy and out of snacks when I’m stressed. But you know what, you’ve given me an idea … even though I’m not a painter or sketcher, I’m going to get out one of the grandkids coloring books and color. It’ll remind me of them and of happier moments.

    • Shannon says:

      You know, Sheliah, it’s really fun to do. I wish I could sketch better than I do, so I tend to color more than sketch, but it’s a cheap and fun way to just let your mind forget about everything bad going on. It’s big in the Art Therapy world.
      Also, you have the added pleasure of remembering your grandbabies! 🙂

Leave a Reply

