Breakfast Casserole + Apartment News

It doesn’t take much to make me happy.  Although, this may be a big thing, but still.  I’m happy! I got a reply back from my property manager about the mat thief and my stove (still haven’t gotten my knobs!).  She called the owner and I’ll mention the good news after I explain some things…

I apparently haven’t mentioned on here that I haven’t been able to bake anything because the knobs on my oven are scratched so bad that you can’t read the temperature.  So, I mentioned that to the property manager, and she had someone come over to see if he can replace them.  He came over to check them out and go get some that would match.  Well, he got some but they didn’t fit the oven knob (the worst of the knobs) so he said he’d special order them.

Well, he had to come back to get the model number (because it’s an old ass oven!) to special order them.  He said he’d order them and they’d be sent to me, no biggie right?  Well flash back two months later and I still don’t have them…

Okay back to the story, I’m getting a new oven!!!  And, she’s going to have a lock put on the gate so take that mat thief!!!

I posted about this on Facebook to vent and my best friend had the best response.  She told me I should get a mat that says “God is watching you…” I was laughing to hard, what a perfect one for me!  I am seriously looking around for something like that!!! Ha ha!

So onto the recipe.  It turned out okay.  I may try it again omitting the bacon, onion, and bell peppers.  They blend too much into the casserole to me… But try it and see what you think.  You get a nice big hunk of it for 6 points which make me happy too!

  • 1 (2 lb) bag frozen hash browns
  • 1 dozen eggs
  • 1 cup fat free milk
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded low fat cheese
  • 8 strips bacon diced
  • 1 red bell pepper diced
  • 1 onion diced
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • salt and pepper

Cook the bacon in a pan until crisp. Drain and set aside.  Wipe up the excess fax and spray with cooking spray.  Add the onion, bell pepper, and garlic to the pan and cook for about 5 minutes or so until onions are translucent and maybe a little browned.

In a crock pot, spray with cooking spray, layer in order 1/3 of the hash browns, 1/3 of the bacon, 1/3 of the bell pepper/onion mix, and 1/3 of the cheese, repeat 2 more times finishing with the last of the cheese. In a large bowl, whisk eggs with milk, salt, and pepper.  Pour mixture over the layers in the crock pot. Cook on low for 6-8 hours.  Cut into 10 pieces. 1 big piece is 6 points.

It tasted okay, but I think that’s just my preference.  I wasn’t crazy that the bacon and peppers kind of blended into the flavors of everything else. But that’s just me.  I think it’s a great idea, and would do it again, maybe with just the cheese, hash browns, and eggs… Maybe adding a few spices or something else.  Maybe chiles… You can pretty much put whatever you want into it.

If you try it out, let me know how you like it. Again, sorry for the no pictures… I took them, but I can’t upload them to my computer. My friend at work said to bring my computer in and she’ll talk to her son about it.

Good night!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

