Easter Recap and FMM- Trigger Foods

Happy Monday!  I hope everyone had a wonderful Easter.  I did.  I had a nice visit at my aunt’s home in Fresno.  We are always spoiled when we go to her home.  She and my mom are the best cooks I know.  Every time I visit, I always come home with a new salad idea or some recipe I want to try.

As I mentioned yesterday, iPhoto seems to be loading my photos again. I just hope it stays that way.  So, I took pictures of our Easter Brunch and Dinner as well as some pictures of the beautiful flowers around her home.  I missed photography a lot!!!

We got to my aunt’s house Friday afternoon/early evening and she made an amazing risotto that had pureed yellow bell pepper in it, along with sauteed spinach and garlic, and salad of course.

Saturday, we got kind of a late start (Oh does that surprise you???) but went over to the Fig Garden which is an outdoor shopping center with a Pottery Barn, William Sonoma, a French bakery, several clothing stores and a lot of other places.  Later that night we went to our favorite restaurant in Fresno, Dai Bai Dang which is a sort of Asian Fushion restaurant.  My must get item there is their garlic green beans.

Easter day we just hung around the house and visited.  My aunt made a nice brunch of homemade madeline cookies and scrambled eggs with fresh basil (yes I make that at home on occasion.  I LOVE basil in my eggs!).  Then we opened presents.  I actually only got a chocolate bunny for candy which was fine for me.  I don’t need candy.  My mom also got me a decorative pillow for my wingback chair, and a baby blue spatula from William Sonoma.

For dinner we had lamb (I LOVE lamb!!!) with green beans and mushrooms, salad (always!), and parchment baked potatoes that I’ll have to give the recipe of sometime because they are insanely good and insanely easy to make.

For dessert my aunt made (yes everything from scratch) a lemon tart that was almost too beautiful to eat.  Almost… 😉

The little decorations on the tart are candied Lilac petals (seriously… She gets them from The Pasta Shop in Berkeley when she visits.) and these round sugar balls that have flavored liquid sugar in the middle.  Don’t ask me how they make them, but they are awesome!  You bite into them and the liquid spills out onto your tongue (also from the same store).

Monday morning I had to get out and take some pictures of the flowers around her home.

We started packing the car and Ama wasn’t very happy to see us go.

We went home that afternoon, and had an early dinner at Pea Soup Andersen’s off of I-5 in Santa Nella. It was a traditional thing we did as a family when we’d travel to my aunt’s in Fresno, or down to Disneyland. The food isn’t that great.  They are known for their Split Pea (for obvious reasons) which is good though.  The best thing to get there is probably their Traveler’s Special which is unlimited Split Pea soup, with a drink (you can get a small milkshake if you want too) and I think you get a salad with it but I can’t remember.

I’ll have you know that Nick did NOT want to take this picture… Am I mean for begging and pleading to have a picture taken with his sister?!

I used to love looking in their gift shop area.  When I was little and collected Trolls, they had some here.  I was so excited because I got one with a jewel in the belly button (those were special Trolls I think) there.

Now onto…

Friend Makin’ Mondays: Trigger Foods

  1. Are there foods in your life that always seem to trigger overeating?  I don’t think I’d be here if I didn’t… (that wasn’t supposed to sound sarcastic) (I totally wrote sartastic.  I think I made a new word!!!)
  2. If so, what are they?  Cake, donuts (cake donuts…), and other carby things like pasta, etc.
  3. When are you most likely to give into strong cravings? At a party or on vacation. Or if I’ve had a REALLY REALLY bad day.
  4. Are you more likely to be triggered by salty foods or sugary foods? Triggered by sugary but once I’m in that zone, I don’t discriminated what I shove down my gullet.
  5. How do you get back on track after overeating?  I go to Weight Watchers.  The  meetings really do help.
  6. Are there any foods that you allow yourself to eat without limits?   Fruit and vegetables.  But I don’t over eat those.  If I ate too much fruit, I’d probably watch that at least.
  7. Do you notice a change in your emotions while eating trigger foods? While I’m eating, I find it comforting, but once I’m done, I feel guilty as all hell!
  8. Do you have a strategy to keep yourself from overeating trigger foods?  I avoid them like the PLAGUE. And if they are around, I’m trying to work on disciplining myself with them.
About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Vacation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

