Skinny Coconut Cupcakes

I found this recipe on Skinnytaste.com and I knew I had to try it.  I have actually seen a lot of recipes there that I’ve printed out that I’m dying to try.  I highly suggest you check out her website.  It’s awesome!!!

I’m not much of a baker, it’s just not something I’ve done a whole lot of.  I do make a lot of pumpkin bread in the Fall, but that’s pretty much it.  I’d like to do more, and these Skinny Coconut Cupcakes seemed like the perfect thing for Easter, and at 5 points plus each, you really can’t beat it!

Ingredients-

For the Frosting:

  • 8 oz 1/3 less fat Philadelphia Cream Cheese (not fat free)
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp natural coconut extract

For the Cupcakes:

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 cup canned light coconut milk (Thai Kitchen)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 2 tsp natural coconut extract
  • 18.25 oz white box cake mix (Duncan Hines)
  • 1/2 cup sweetened coconut flakes
  • 72 Cadbury mini chocolate eggs (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Whisk together the egg whites, coconut milk, apple sauce, and coconut extract.

Add the cake mix, and mix until combined. 
Line cupcake tins with cupcake liners (makes 24, so if you only have 1 tin, you need to do it twice) and fill about 1/2 way (seriously, no more, they puff up enough.  I made them a little bigger because I’m not used to it and only got 16 out of the batter.)

Bake for 22-24 minutes (it doesn’t need more than 22, you could probably check them at 20).

While baking, mix together the cream cheese, powdered sugar, and coconut extract to make the frosting.

Once cupcakes are cooled, frost them with 1/2 tablespoon of the frosting, sprinkle with 1 teaspoon coconut flakes and 3 cadbury mini eggs. 

They are so pretty!!! And so good!!! Make sure you frost them the day you serve them.  I brought a dozen of them to work and they were a big hit!  Personally, I might make a regular frosting instead of cream cheese frosting next time, but that’s just me.

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

