Happy Birthday Dad!

Today would have been my father’s 67th birthday (holy crap!!!).  Tonight my mom and I are going out to dinner with some of the family to celebrate.  Sunday, my mom and I will meet Nick in St. Helena to visit my dad’s grave and spend some time in the wine country in his honor.  I’m sure I’ve mentioned before that he was a wine connoisseur for an upscale grocery store in the Bay Area.  That, and my great grandfather ran a winery in St. Helena in the 20’s (yes, during the prohibition, that’s how we role!), so you could say wine is in our blood. 

I have been having an off couple of days…  It started with falling on Wednesday.  I was walking towards my mom’s car as she picked me up for lunch, and boom, I tripped on my stupid shoe and went down.  I am okay, I just skinned my elbow a little bit.  I took off a layer of skin, but not enough to draw blood or anything.  Still stings though… Anyway, I should have known that would be a start to a string of clutsy things happening to me…

Next thing I know, I am curling my hair yesterday morning and accidentally put my thumb right on the curling iron as I was grabbing the hair, and I think I hit a nerve because it hurt way more than normal…

Then when I am getting ready to leave for work, I notice that my wallet isn’t in my purse…  30 minutes, several phone calls to work, to my boss, and a couple of people who were at work, and tearing my own apartment and both my car and my mom’s car apart, we find out (thanks to said co-workers) that my wallet was in one of my drawers at work. 

Towards the end of the day, I banged my ankle on the corner of this wooden box that I put my feet up on and that hurt like hell.  I went and told my boss, and she started laughing (she knows how I am!) and she jokingly yelled stop it!!!  🙂  She said I don’t need you sick or hurt!  It was all joking around, she knows that I’m good about being here. 

Stay tuned to find out what else goes on because I’m sure there’s going to be more. 🙂

Well, after my therapist’s appointment yesterday, I went home and a few minutes later, my aunt picked me up because I was invited to Bunco (I’m a filler sometimes), but apparently, I didn’t call soon enough to let the lady know that I could come so I ended up being the 13th person (there’s supposed to be 12) and this is a good friend of my aunt’s but I just felt like the whole time, she was making me feel bad about being there.  I definitely felt unwelcome.  I felt really bad about the whole thing, and she didn’t help the situation at all. 

I told my aunt, I’ll just sit it out and visit with everyone, but everyone else wasn’t making a big deal about it.  Just the hostess… When we started getting food, I wasn’t going to eat anything because she wasn’t expecting 13 people, but my aunt could see that I was uncomfortable, and she kept telling me, it’s alright. 

I insisted several times, but two other people decided to split their card and share playing. I also won the Bunco prize which was $20.  That further bugged her.  I could just tell. Out of 24 games, I won 13 of them which I felt like it was my dad (since his birthday is today, the 13th) saying, don’t let it get to you or something.  I don’t know.  I still feel a little down about the whole thing. 

I’m probably even more mad at myself because I’m letting her make me feel this way. I had a minute long break down when I got home after telling my mom.  I just had to vent.  Of course, being the faithful, devoting mother that she is, she was pissed, and she told me not to feel one bit bad about it. But I can’t help myself.  It could be a combination of that, and my dad’s birthday and missing him, and the fact that I might be a PMSing a little bit, I’m not sure…

Anyway, this day should be happy not depressing, so I’m going to try to let the whole night run off my back, and realize that it’s her problem and not mine.

Love you, Dad!!!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Celebrations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

