Busy, Busy Weekend

I’ve had an incredibly busy last few days, and I really need to catch up on my sleep! I’ve been getting to sleep around midnight and it’s getting very annoying!!!

Saturday, my mom and I spent the day in Roseville.  As usual we stopped by the Roseville Galleria and went into the usual stores, Nordstrom, Pottery Barn, Crate and Barrel, etc.  Once we were done in the mall, we went and saw The Hunger Games.  Yes, I have already seen it, this was my second time going because my mom wanted to see it.  Of course, I had no problem seeing it again.

God Bless Juila!

After the movie, we ran over to Sur Le Table to take a quick look because I’m a big foodie and love looking at different kitchen gadgets.  And after that, we went to Nordstrom Rack to take a look there where I got a much needed bigger purse, and had a late dinner (10:00 to be exact!) at PF Chang’s.  We didn’t get home until 11:30ish!  I knew we were going to get home late so my mom and I said our prayers while driving home.

Being that last Friday was my dad’s birthday, we planned on going to St. Helena on Sunday.  We left around 12:30 with a quick stop at Peet’s Coffee in Vacaville for the required pick-me-up for my mom.  I just got an iced tea… I don’t do well with coffee on long trips.  I get a stomach ache…

Peety's!

Then we were back on the road.  I love being in the Napa Valley.  Once you take the Highway 12 turn off, it’s like being in a different country.

We continued down onto Highway 29 and through the various towns.

If you look to the right of the picture the small looking (I mean looking, the house is huge!) home we have stayed at a couple of times. It's Carinale Winery's guest house, and the bigger building is their wine tasting room I believe.

Here’s the famous Oakville Grocery (I think it’s being renovated…) where my grandmother used to get groceries for her family when she was growing up in St. Helena.

Once we met Nick in St. Helena, we made a pit stop in the little grocery store nearby to use the potty then drove about a mile back down the highway to Dean and Deluca.

You should have seen the disgust on Nick's face when he saw these small bottle of Champagne with STRAWS!!!

Yea... He's got the beard back... He claims it's for a play, but we'll see.

I found these pretty flowers on the side of Dean and Deluca

Very nice selection of cheeses.

Amazing breads, some from the famous Bouchon Bakery in Yountville, a few miles back.

Only in Napa would you find wine jellies...

French bread ring from Bouchon Bakery

We got two different kinds of Gouda.

We liked the look of these hot pepper peach preserves. It's just peach jam with red pepper flakes. It was really good.

A piece of bread topped with some of the creamy gouda and the peach preserves made the perfect lunch for a day in Napa! You can see all of the pepper flakes in the preserves!

Then we finally got back to downtown St. Helena to do what??? You got it, more shopping!  Thank God my dad liked shopping!

First shop we went into was Olivier which is an olive oil and vinegar shop. They also have different tapenades and mustards and you can try different samples to see what you'll like.

This is their 25 year barrel aged balsamic and I always have some in my home. I have an almost full bottle and it lasts me a long time since I don't use it very often but it is so good! Thick and sweet!

Woodhouse Chocolates

We refrained from going in because it's too expensive and I don't want to tempt myself but look at those chocolate shoes!!!

Christina Aguilera and her then husband were seen shopping here a day or two after they got married in Napa. Of course it didn't work out, but still it's pretty cool!

It's a high end card shop, that sells stationary from Cartier and the like. Fancy!

Then we went into my favorite store, Baksheesh. It's a fair trade shop that sells different things from various countries and the price tags on the items tell you which country it was made from.

My mom got one of these tea light holders. They glow when you put a candle in them. She has some other candle holders made of the same rock. They come from Pakistan.

A nativity scene made out of soda cans.

Yes my friends, they sell Elephant Dung paper... No, I am not joking...

They have all sorts of stuff made from this dung paper. The idea is great, but it is just too creepy to me...

Our last stop was the local beauty supply store. It's just kind of fun to look around.

They had some hilariously packaged gum on display. Not for childrens' eyes!

I have a sick mind therefore I find this absolutely hilarious.

Story of my life. And yes the one below it says I ❤ my Penis...

After walking around we went to The Market for dinner.

They have been consistently amazing and the prices aren’t that bad.

I love that they have some nicer dishes together with some typical american dishes like macaroni and cheese and fried chicken.

Terrible picture of me, but I wanted to show off my new pink and orange striped shirt I got at Nordstrom that was on sale.

We started out with calamari and they brough out these rolls that were made from a makery in Calistoga.

Fresh baked wheat rolls from a Calistoga Bakery

There are fried peppers in there too and it came with a chipolte aioli and an avocado sauce.

My mom and I both ordred the filet mignon (which I usually do.  I love a good filet!)

The steak was SOOOO good! The potato au gratin was okay, I didn't eat the whole thing. I even ate the asparagus and I'm not a big fan of the stuff...

Nick had the fried chicken, which looked pretty good too.

I just had to get a quick pic of it before he dug in! He was slighly annoyed. He even made one of those memes saying PHOTOGRAPH ALL THE FOOD!!! I'll have to find it an post it. Brat!

Then it was time for dessert. 

We split their homemade butterscotch pudding.  This is not your typical Jello Pudding mix.  This pudding is unlike anything I’ve ever tasted.  It’s so creamy and thick.  It’s be best I’ve ever had and we get it every time we’re hear!

Oh good Lord it was heaven!!! It took great effort in splitting it with my mom. Nick didn't want anything... Fine more for us!

Being that my mom had two glasses of wine with dinner, I drove us home, and Nick went back to SJSU.  Again, we said our prayers while driving home, but I still got to sleep around midnight… I don’t know what’s wrong with me! I guess I’m a glutton for punishment.

Anyway, we had a nice, yet busy, weekend and we are planning on taking more day trips to Napa than we did last year.

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Day Trip Reports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

