I’m Still Here… plus Weight Watchers Tuesday

Well, Wednesday…

I have no excuse to be gone for over a week, but at least I’m back. 

My allergies are full blown and my asthma just couldn’t wait until May as it is starting to creep up on me as well… Yay… I can’t believe it’s May!!! I have to figure out what to do for my mom’s birthday (on the 21st) and Mother’s day.  I don’t know if she reads this or not, I think she does sometimes, so I better not mention anything more on the subject until after it happens.

I haven’t been sleeping well the last few weeks which has in turn made me moody and I’m not eating well.  I really have to do a lot better with my eating habits.  I’m starting to get worried about my health.  My anxiety is creaping up a little bit and I don’t know if it’s because I’m gaining weight again or what is going on.  At night I worry about my mom dying, and I worry about certain aches and pains I feel. 

Anyway, I bit the bullet and weighed in. I gained 2.5 pounds.  It was discouraging but I’m glad I went.  The meeting was about the dos and don’ts of dining out.

I am actually pretty good when it comes to planning on what to order depending on where we go to eat out.  That’s if I have time beforehand to take a look at the menu and weigh in my options.  But, since my mom has moved in, we’ve been eating out practically every night and that kind of thing really throws me off track. 

Luckily I have my favorites at certain restaurants so I don’t have to do too much prep work before going out to eat.  For example, 99% of the time that we go out to the Cheesecake Factory (not that we go all that often), I will order their fresh grilled salmon with brown rice and streamed broccoli.  I don’t even need to look at their menu.  Well, I open it up to that page because my mind likes to go blank when it’s put on the spot! First, I push off 1/2 of the rice and 1/2 of the salmon to bring home. I tend to eat all of the broccoli first with a few bites here and there of the salmon and rice, so I can fill up on the vegetables first.  I do have some of the tartar sauce but I just barely touch the food to the sauce so I get a little taste.

About 50% of the time when we go to our local Italian restaurant, I get their lasagna and you get either minestrone soup or salad with it.  I get the salad with ranch on the side, and I eat 1/2 of the lasagna and stop when I get to that point.  The size of the lasagna is twice the size of a regular serving of lasagna. I love their left overs anyway. Sometimes I’ll get their special steak dinner which is a ton of food but save 1/2 of it for the next day.  If I don’t have many points left, I’ll get their chicken sandwich with salad and a baked potato and I don’t eat the collasal roll they put the chicken breast on. 

This is just one of the many things I love about Weight Watchers.  You CAN eat out, you just need to be smart about it.   

I told my mom, I have to be able to plan in advance what we’re going to have in order for this to work for me.  I asked if we could possibly do a week in advance, but I’d be happy if we could just try for 2-3 days.  I’m just used to making large meals and having left overs everyday and she’s not used to that, so I am willing to give, just as long as I have some sort of knowledge of what is going on.  So we’ll see how it goes.

Our plans are starting out tonight with tacos (for her)/toastadas (for me).  I found the cutest little corn tortillas at Whole Foods and you get 4 for 3 points.  Not bad! My mom (surprisingly to me) got 7% fat ground beef for the taco meat, and we have a can of Amy’s refried beans, and lettuce.  I just need to get some cheese and sour cream.  I get 2% on the cheese but I will splurge on full fat sour cream.  It’s only 1 point for 2 tablespoons and I don’t need more than that. 

I suppose I should end there as I have yet another busy day!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

