Cooking for the Week and Home Projects

Hi…  I know I have been sparse lately with the posts.  It’s hard to get back into the groove  of things after vacation, and combining that with our office move which is thankfully over.  We are officially moved into our new office, and still in the process of getting settled in, but so far, it hasn’t been too bad of a process. 

My commute is a little longer but I can deal with that.  I’ve heard there are some good restaurants around here.  I know there’s a Chipotle which I don’t go to as often as I used to but at least I know what to order there.  There’s Thai, Sushi, a couple of sandwich places, and a lot of other places around here.  Plus, Costco is about a mile down the street so we can just stop by there for lunch.  I still have to figure out the points for food there, because $2 for a gigantic hot dog and a drink is quite the deal.

Anyway, since I have to leave a little earlier now, and I’m already not a morning person so I have to get up at 6:15 instead of 6:30, and at least for me that extra 15 minutes can hard to give up! But I’m doing it.  I don’t have a choice in the matter anyway.  And, no I don’t want to go to work later, I like getting off at 4.

So, I really have to get disciplined with planning out and preparing my meals the night before, or even the week ahead (for some things).  I have found a few recipes I want to try for breakfasts in the morning that I can grab and bring with me.  I found these Breakfast “Egg Boats” on Pinterest that I have planned a light version of and if they come out, then I will post my lightened up version here soon.  I just have to, you know…, make them.

I also found a couple of recipes I’m dying to try.  One is from the Weight Watchers website for slow cooker Chicken Tikka Masala.  I’m still pretty new to Indian food, and I’ve never cooked it before, but I know Chicken Tikka Masala is one of my favorite dishes so far. I’m not a big curry fan so I don’t really go for currys at Asian restaurants.

Also from a website I love called Skinnytaste.com, she posted “Mom’s Chicken and Rice” basically Arroz con Pollo and I am planning on making that tomorrow.  It makes 8 servings so that’s plenty to get me through a couple of days for three people.  It looks fantastic, but I am not putting in the capers, olives, and pimentos it calls for.  Not my favorite things… The only briny thing I like are dill pickles, and I like them just on their own.

Now onto my home projects.  I’m still trying to work on organization of my apartment which I haven’t done a whole lot of, but I haven’t really had the motivation for it and it’s kind of hard to do when you don’t have motivation. I have gotten some motivation from Pinterest in organizing certain areas of my home, and I’m going to start buying a basket or two each paycheck and slowly build up each area that I need baskets in. 

I really want to get my kitchen and laundry room done first.  It’s the part that gives me the biggest headache.  I just don’t know where the best places are for putting things. I do have good news though.  I asked the property manager if I could paint the inside of my cupboards and she said yes!  I’m so happy!  It looks so gross inside the cupboards in the kitchen.  They are old brown wood and sticky from someone using tacky paper in there.  So I’m going to clean them out and paint them white so it brightens them up a bit.  I will absolutely take before and after pictures.

Speaking of paint, I’m planning on painting most of my furniture, I have to figure it out one at a time but I want to get them painted.  I have a mish mosh of furniture and I’ve been wanting to make them my own for a while now.  Before and after pictures of those will be made too! 🙂

I know I’ve been talking on and off about organizing my place, and trust me, it will be a life long process for me. I’m a born procrastinator and it’s hard for me to want to do things like that when I have so much going on around me.

I’ve been having a lot of stressful things as of late and I just can’t wait for this month to be over…  I have a jury summons on Monday and I have to call tomorrow after work to see if I need to go or not.  I don’t know why, but I have a phobia about jury duty.  It’s stupid I know, and yes, I know it’s our duty, blah blah blah.  That statement doesn’t help the fact that it terrifys me.  Again, I don’t know why.  I have an appointment today with my therapist so maybe she can give me some insight on it.

Also, for the last month, my mom has been waiting to get a biopsy on her thyroid because one of the glands felt a little different than the other.  The doctors told her that 9 times out of 10 it’s absolutely nothing, and even if it was thyroid cancer, it’s extreamly treatable.  Well, they got back to her on Tuesday, and all is clear thank God.  That’s one less thing I have to stress about. 

There’s other stuff, but I don’t want to get into it. I’ve also gained weight the last two weeks.  The one before this one, I expected being away for vacation that I would gain on that, but the last two I have no excuse for.  I need to get my butt in gear and stick with writing everything down.  Last week I actually thought I would have lost a little, but I ended up gaining almost 2 pounds.  Our leader (who weighed me in) said that we can tend to hold onto water weight if you haven’t worked out in a long time and your body isn’t used to is.  Your muscles need the water to repair the damage done during a workout. So we’ll see if maybe that’s what happened in a week or two.  I just know I need to stick with it and be disciplined about my eating habits.

Anyway, I think that’s about it from me for the moment, but I will make an effort to post more often now that things are starting to get back to normal.

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

