Gallbladder Fun

So, 1/2 of this weekend was fun.  The other 1/2 not so much.  I had another gallbladder attack, and since it was in the early evening before urgent care closed I decided I better go.  Long story short, they shipped me off to the ER and I had some ultrasounds and blood work done and they told me I have gall stones but for now I’m okay.  I may need to get it removed in the future but for now I have to stick to a low-fat diet.

I got home at 1 am and I’m up posting this right now before I go to sleep.  I am taking tomorrow off to give myself a rest and I’m going to have to make a serious plan for eating lower fat foods.  They gave me some information that I’m going to share with you below on what I should eat and what I should stay away from.  Also, what the gallbladder’s purpose is and why I’m getting gall stones.  Well, I don’t know WHY I have them per-say but I know why I get the attacks.

So, first what the gallbladder does.  It stores bile created in the liver and the bile breaks down fat, and there is the reason I need to be on a low-fat diet.  The stones begin as small crystals and slowly grow into stones.  The pain occurs when the gallbladder spasms and the gallstones block the port of the gallbladder.  That’s basically it.  There’s not much more to it. And they told me to take Advil if I have another attack, but if it gets really bad I can always come back.

I also have to give some paperwork to my doctor when I see her and follow a low-fat diet. I have to stay away from fried foods and fast food. And lower my intake of cheese, fatty and processed meats, etc. that is high in fat, saturated-fat, and cholesterol.

They gave me a list of what I should stick with and how much.

So that’s the gist of my Sunday, I’ll try to get something out tomorrow on something I just got that I’m excited to talk about and a few other things.

Good night!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Life, Motivation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

