Plus Size Motivation

Since the big blow up with the whole Abercrombie CEO controversy (am I wrong in thinking he deserves the biggest douchebag hypocrite award of the century?), I fell upon a post on The Militant Baker regarding the adds in the Abercrombie catalogs and she had a photo shoot not unlike a typical Abercrombie catalog showing that fat women can do that too and look just as hot doing it.

Anyway, her blog in particular seems to have awoken a confidence in me for some reason.  It’s almost like I had a revelation and I’ve been asking myself, why do I have to keep telling myself that I’m not beautiful? Why do I have to feel like I’m not worthy of love just because I’m fat? It’s how I’ve felt my whole life.   It’s a beginning process and I’m sure I’ll have my moments where I’m feeling down (I don’t even know if this new found confidence will stay with me) but we’ll see what happens and until the time it goes away (God forbid) I’m going to take advantage of it.

IMG_0431 IMG_0433

See, I’m noticing a difference.  I hate my pictures, but these aren’t bad at all.  I just got that new shirt by the way.  Nordstrom is having their women’s and kids 1/2 yearly sale right now and I got a few shirts (*cough 5) and this is one of them.  All but one were from Olivia Moon.  I think I’ve gotten a shirt or two, maybe a sweater or something, from her, but this is the first time I noticed that I really like her style.  The other 3 I got of hers were just basic tank tops.  Nice tanks that I can dress up or down for work or the weekend.  I rarely find that many things anywhere let alone on sale so I’m thinking of doing an outfit of the day every now and then with my new clothes (I swear I don’t have much, I wear quite a few things all the time, and I really should veer from the same old t-shirt and pants, so I’m working on getting new clothes (on the cheap) and getting rid of old, moth hole ridden, or stuff I can’t wear/don’t want anymore, so I have a wardrobe that I can confidently choose from instead of going, no, that doesn’t fit, or no, that looks like crap, or I don’t like that anymore, kind of worry that I go through a quite a bit.

So onto stuff I’ve been up to lately, being Memorial Day weekend, I had a nice long weekend.  Friday after work, I went to the Bay Area with my mom and spent the night at Hotel Sofitel in Redwood City.

IMG_0407 IMG_0419 IMG_0417 IMG_0414 IMG_0412 IMG_0410 IMG_0409 IMG_0408

Really nice hotel, albeit a little snooty (but they were a nice kind of snooty) and we ate at a local Chinese restaurant we used to frequent even though I couldn’t taste the food as I have a cold… (It’s getting better, I can taste things now and I’m at the tail end, but I’m guessing that the cough is coming next as it usually does…) Saturday morning we had to rush and check out because I had an eye doctor appointment.  After that, we went to Hillsdale Shopping Center and that’s where I had my mini shopping spree.  We had lunch at Boudin Cafe in the mall, and ended our little mini trip to my childhood mall.

We left for home after that because we were meeting my brother at the Yard House in Roseville for a belated birthday dinner and to FINALLY meet his girlfriend and her son.  Yes, we finally met them.  After almost a year of them dating…

How did it go you ask? It went great.  She is really sweet and outgoing and her son is a DOLL.  He is just the cutest and he even looks like he could be Nick’s son.  I got him a little coloring book with crayons and my mom got him a toy Raptor.  He LOVES dinosaurs and we gave him the coloring book first, and my mom’s present fell on the floor under the booth but he saw it and immediately his eyes got as big as saucers.  It was the cutest thing!  When he had to go potty, Nick immediately volunteered to bring him.   He’s so good with him and I’m so glad he’s so happy.  They are all so cute together.

I’m glad all of the pent up nervousness is gone now and we’ve already talked about shopping together and hanging out more.  I want to get my condo cleaned up and have them over for dinner or something soon.

Anyway, I’m going to finish up as it’s a work night and I am washing my hair in the morning instead of at night so I can scrunch it (and it got too late) and I’m not a morning person, but I have plans for some posts coming up soon.  Some recipes I’ve been wanting to do for the blog, outfit of the day, women that inspire me, and some other stuff.  If you have a suggestion of something you’d like me to talk about, please let me know!

Good night!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Motivation, Plus Sized Empowerment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

