Weight Watchers Thursday: The Sleep-Weight Loss Connection

So as I mentioned yesterday, I’m back at Weight Watchers. I’m going to an actual center down the street from me which is nice. In West Sacramento, we were having meetings in a church. This center is much more updated. They keep your information in a computer system and it automatically updates your weight to eTools when you weigh in.

20130808-214309.jpg

I got a new welcome packet and everyone is so friendly. They were so happy to see me back (even thought they don’t know me from Adam) and the group itself seems very comfortable.

20130808-214517.jpg

They gave out a trail mix bar and I tried a couple of bites but wasn’t crazy about it. I’m not a big fan of their bars, but I’m not really a fan of any bars so that’s not saying much.

This week’s meeting is about getting enough sleep and how it relates to your weight loss. I’ve always known that lack of sleep doesn’t help with weight loss and God knows that I don’t sleep we’ll and never have. It’s like my mind just fights to keep from tomorrow happening. I’ve had that problem since I was little.

The goal for this month is to get in 7-8 hours of sleep each night. I am going to try my best by making a routine and being in bed with the lights off by no later than 10. I’m sure it won’t happen overnight but it’s something I am going to work towards.

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Motivation, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Weight Watchers Thursday: The Sleep-Weight Loss Connection

  1. enjoybliss says:

    Do you like living in Sac? I have a job offer there. I like that it is close to areas that I want to road trip to (Tahoe, Humboldt, Yosemite, etc.), but not sure about the nature options there, and “fear” being inland and bored.

    • Shannon says:

      I like that I’m closer to Tahoe even though we don’t go as often as we used to. I think living off of 50 is prettier than 80 there’s more nature around east of Sacramento. I lived in the Bay Area before and miss it a lot so it’s hard comparing it to Where I grew up. I definitely think there are good and bad things to living here and if you decide to go for the job, my opinion would be to look for a place to live maybe in Zfolsom or somewhere nearby closer to Highway 50. I hope that helps! Good luck with whatever you decide to do!

      • enjoybliss says:

        Thanks! Folsom is where I was looking (online, not in person). I have spent time in Natomas, and also have lived in the Bay Area. Although, the Bay Area, really wasn’t for me either. I thought that I would love it! 😦 (I have never visited Tahoe!) I have lots of pros and cons to think about when I make the decision. 😦

      • Shannon says:

        Folsom is beautiful. I like your blog a lot and from the looks of it I think you’d really enjoy Tahoe. Natomas isn’t the nicest part of Sacramento. If you have any questions I’d be happy to help. It’s not easy moving from a long distance away. Where did you live in the Bay Area?

      • enjoybliss says:

        I lived near Ashby Bart (my car was stolen!) in Berkeley, and in Albany. I worked in both downtown SF and in Oakland.

        I will probably follow up with you if I chose Sacramento. Right now, I am weighing the pros and cons of both of the potential jobs that I am seeking and also the pros and cons of both areas. Both positions/locations are a distance.

        BTW, I lost about 30lbs on WW in 2010. I am not a fan of points plus, but would like to try it again and make lifetime. I am pretty close (and have been closer!)

      • Shannon says:

        My ain’t went to Berkeley and she loves it there (although she currently lives in Fresno) spans while I enjoyed looking around Berkeley, I don’t know if I would want to live that close to Oakland and Richmond… So I could imagine how you feel. I grew up on the Peninsula in Belmont and I loved it there. We lived less than 10 miles away from the ocean.
        I would love to help if you do decide on Sacramento. Good luck!

      • Shannon says:

        And I ment aunt! I was typing on the tiny keys on my iPad mini!

  2. enjoybliss says:

    Also, I had to google Belmont. I don’t think I have ever made it to Pacific or Half Moon Bay, but I heard great things about those areas. It would probably be hard to compare and much different than Sac.

    I totally understood, “aunt”!

    • Shannon says:

      My uncle has a home there (he has Alzheimer’s) and his Son and his family live there and really like it. I don’t know it very well but I’ve been there a few times. How did you like it there?

Leave a Reply

