Trip to the Farmers Market

So we decided to check out the farmers market near us in Carmichael for the first time. I’ve missed going to farmers markets and this one definitely didn’t disappoint.

I was excited to break out my new basket my aunt got me for my birthday.

20130811-191330.jpg
There was a lot of selection there and being that it’s a dog park, there were several dogs there. Not sure how they pulled that off being near food and everything. I thought that was supposed to be illegal but maybe it’s different since its in a dog park…

20130811-191349.jpg

20130811-191359.jpg
They had a group making balloon animals for the kiddies.

20130811-191409.jpg
They had a few food vendors and my mom got a Belgian waffle at this truck.

20130811-191416.jpg
The guy put a drizzle of Nutella and a few strawberries on it. Long story but we really just wanted powdered sugar. He didn’t force it on us but it was miscommunication on my part. Anyway it was good.

20130811-191426.jpg
There was a performer there singing music from her album. She was pretty good.

20130811-191435.jpg

20130811-191451.jpg
They had a vendor selling the type of basket I had along with some other things like bowls and hats and such all made in Ghana. I can’t remember where mine was made but all of that stuff is fair trade which is really cool and usually there are stories about the people that make everything.

20130811-191511.jpg
We got a fair amount of food. We didn’t have a set list of what we wanted so we didn’t get to take a lot of advantage but for around $15, we got 5 pounds worth of peaches, nectarines, and grapes (the farm was selling everything $5 for 5lbs), a big bunch of Italian parsley for $1, some baby red skinned potatoes, and a basket of strawberries.

20130811-191525.jpg
So that was about it. We went to Nugget Market after to get food for dinner and lunch stuff for the week. Then we rested a little when we got home before I made salad and pasta for dinner (recipes to come).

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

