Weight Watchers Thursdays: Supermarket Strategies

I’ve been wanting to write something all week but my mind has been blank. Thankfully I have a topic handed to me each week with Weight Watchers.

This week’s topic is Supermarket Strategies. Shopping can be hard when you aren’t prepared. There are a lot of things that can throw you off and luckily I have quite a few tips that I have already learned over the years.

1- Shop the perimeter of the store- Most grocery stores, keep the healthier foods around the perimeter of the store. The middle isles tend to have the highly processed junk foods. Also, beware of the foods that are eye level. Said junk foods tend to be in the middle of the isle and in the middle rows right at eye level. Beware of the ends of the isles as well.

2- Plan ahead- If you can, plan a week’s worth of meals and make a list (see next item for lists) of everything you need for the week.

3- Lists- One of the BEST things to do is make a list and STICK TO IT. It’s easier to just go off a list instead of walking around willy nilly through the store. You have less of a chance of grabbing junk food or things you don’t need. Also, it helps you save on money.

4- Don’t Go to the Store Hungry- This is one of the worst things you can do. When you go hungry you want to grab every single thing that looks good (but really isn’t, it just looks so because you’re hungry.). Trust me, I have fallen curse to such tragedies! 🙂

So I think that’s a good guide to start out with. And how did I do this week, you ask? I lost another 2 pounds! I’m down a total of 4.2 pounds since I started. Not too shabby. Hopefully, I can stick to it this time. I’m feeling slightly better. I definitely feel less bloated. And I’m happy with most of the decisions I’ve made over the last 2 weeks.

Do you have any ideas or tips for smart shopping?

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weight Watchers Thursdays: Supermarket Strategies

  1. I actually wrote about the same thing!

    http://somuchfattitude.com/2013/08/22/planning-to-eat/

    I also take a marker and write point values on the box before it enters my cart.

    • Shannon says:

      They mentioned that too. I just do it when I get home while I’m putting things away. Otherwise I tend to remember. That is a great article. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

