Eating Locally

So, my mom, Nick, and I went to the Farmers’ Market yesterday and didn’t get there until about 30 minutes before closing up which is later than standard Farmers Markets. Ours closes at 2 which is good for us night owls. Still, we didn’t get there until around 1:30.

BUT, there is a benefit to getting there late. I bought 15 pounds (at least) of fruit for $10. TEN freaking dollars! I have so much fruit that I can’t fit all of it into the fridge.

20130826-132023.jpg
I got a bag each of red and green grapes for $5 and did the $5 for 5 pounds at a different farm and got more red grapes, plumbs, and white nectarines. Holy crap, I’m up to my eyeballs in fruit!

IMG_0868

I got the bag of green grapes for my nephew because he’s on a green grape kick, plus, I had already gotten a bag at Nugget before and didn’t figure on going to the Farmers’ Market this weekend.

The negative is that the food vendors were closing so Nick (who hadn’t eaten yet that day) didn’t get anything to eat. We went to Costco next so he just got something there, but I digress.

Today’s topic is about eating locally. This Month’s book for my book club was Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver. It’s about her family’s year of eating off of what they grow and raise and it is quite interesting.

Due to my bad memory, (and that I only read 1/2 the book) I can’t remember a lot if details or specific point that I really wanted to talk about, but it really opened my eyes to where our food truly comes from.

It made me understand why I should be going to farmers markets and eating locally grown and raised foods which isn’t very easy at all, but the conditions of these farms where most of our meat comes from is appalling and all of the pesticides and the conditions the farmers have to work in and he oil that’s used in gas to ship it all is just gross.

I know for the condition I’m living in that I cannot grow my own garden and I can’t get everything locally, but because of reading this book, I’m going to try to get as much as possible from local sources.

Farmers’ Markets help with that, and there are stores like Whole Foods (or known by it’s nickname Whole Paycheck) and there are more restaurants popping up each day that get their food locally. I’m going to do some research on local foods in Sacramento in case anyone reading is from Sacramento and is interested.

Okay, that’s it from me for now…

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Life, Motivation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

