Well Hello There, October! How I’ve Missed You!

I’m so happy that fall is finally here. I love the weather and the holidays are creeping around the corner.  Plus, I like wearing warmer clothes.  I got my box of Halloween/Fall stuff out of the garage and I’m planning on decorating the apartment (not that I have a ton of stuff) this week to take advantage of it.

This may be a bit of a random post but I must have some sort of outlet when I start nerding out about something and that’s exactly what I’m doing today!

The Voice– I am so FREAKING excited for this season of The Voice.  You all know I’m a HUGE Christina Aguilera fan. I missed her and CeeLo on the show a LOT. I tried to get into last season, but I just couldn’t.  I love Shakira and Usher seems like a great guy but the original four have such a chemistry together.  I have been laughing so hard so far and it’s only the beginning.
Christina looks fantastic and happy.  I must say I’m getting pissed because people were RIPPING her apart because she put on some weight which I think I’m going to make a separate post because I feel a long rant coming on… I’ll just say for now that it bothers me that it’s okay for a man to be fat but not a woman.  It really upsets me… Okay, I’m done for now.
The talent this year so far is some of the best I have seen yet on the show. I am just stunned and how amazing they all are. And the thing I love most about The Voice is that they don’t make fun of the people who don’t get picked.  They offer great advice and encourage a lot of them to come back again. I love that all four of them stressed the importance of leaving that out of the show.

Holidays– We’re officially into the beginning of the holidays for me. I don’t mean just Christmas. To me, it starts with Halloween. As I mentioned above, I’ve got my Halloween box out and I need to start decorating. And as soon as that is over, I’ll but it away and get started on Christmas decorations.  I love everything that comes with the holidays. I do need to plan better for gifts and everything, but I love baking, candy making, decorating, and being all over crafty.  I think it gets my creativity out and working unlike the rest of the year… Also, I started listening to Christmas music… Don’t judge me…

Pumpkin Flavored Everything– I LOVE pumpkin. Growing up the only pumpkin thing we had been my mom’s pumpkin bread which is still the best pumpkin flavored thing ever! It’s not low-fat by any means which makes it delicious, but I might post the recipe some time just in case you would like to try it… But be forewarned, it’s a definite temptation if you like pumpkin so maybe make it for a party or something so you aren’t stuck with 2 loaves of it and end up eating the whole batch.

Thanksgiving Changes– I know I’ve mentioned before that we go to Monterey every year for Thanksgiving but this year we just don’t have the funds for it.  My mom is actually okay with it.  We did get a chance to go about a month ago for an overnight thing so maybe we can do that again sometime but for now we just don’t have the money.
I’m sad about it, but I also need to be realistic. I’m trying to think positively about it.
The original plan was to go visit my cousin in Santa Monica for a couple of days, go down to Disneyland for 3 days, then drive back up to Monterey.  So far, the first 1/2 of that plan is still in the works.  I don’t know how I’ll feel if it doesn’t work out. I don’t want to think about it right now, but if we really can’t do it, then there isn’t a choice…
SO, we’re throwing around an option of going to Fresno for Thanksgiving (whether we go to Disneyland or not) But if we do go to Disneyland, it will not only be the first time I went at Christmas time, and the first time I’ll be able to see Cars Land and all of the new layout of California Adventure.

There was more I was going to talk about but I think I forgot the rest and I got it out enough.  I have a few recipe posts I need to write up but they will be published soon!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

