Sonoma Square and Family Dinner

So I got an odd fortune in my fortune cookie today.. It said, “Customer service is like taking a bath; you have to keep doing it.” What? What does that mean? Keep doing customer service? Isn’t it implied if you work in customer service? And what if you aren’t? Do you really have to “do customer service” if you aren’t working in customer service.  And how the hell is that a fortune?!

Sorry I didn’t get a chance to post about last week’s Weight Watchers… Again… I’ll add it to tomorrow’s Weight Watchers post.  It’s been a week full of good and bad things.

Last weekend, I went to Sonoma with my mom to have lunch with a couple of her cousins at a restaurant called Della Santina’s.  It was amazing and it was actually owned by an Italian.  You don’t see that often anymore.

We parked out in front of a little rental cottage it was so cute!

20131009-124605.jpg

20131009-125158.jpg

The restaurant is a block away from the square, and nearby Train Town which we realized that day how close it was.  We have to bring my nephew back, he had so much fun!

20131009-125251.jpg

My mom’s cousin brought a bottle of Pinot Noir that was really good. I’m still learning about wine but I definitely want to.  It’s in my blood and I wish I would have learned from him…

I started out with an amazing bowl of minestrone soup.  It was Tuscan style and had potatoes instead of pasta.  It was so delicious!

20131009-125318.jpg

I figured we were going to have dessert and I’ve been having gall stones a little more frequently (and I have a doctor’s appointment for it finally!) so I didn’t want something that was too oily or creamy so I went with their pasta primavera.  It was very good, however, Im’ not a big fan of artichoke hearts (when they come straight like that anyway because they are a little pickled I think) and the type of mushrooms they put in the pasta were a little too chewy…

20131009-125335.jpg

My mom and I split their chocolate mousse tarte with an amaretto crust. Wow was it amazing! And those are sort of candied cherries on top.  They had a sticky chewy texture to them, WAY better than any maraschino cherry I’ve ever had!

20131009-125540.jpg

They went back home after we had lunch and my mom and I took a stroll through the Square.  IMG_1322

I didn’t realize that there was a mission in Sonoma… Is that bad? In my defense, it’s really small… From the plaque below, it looks like this was the last mission that was built.

IMG_1324

From what I found online, this is one of 12 replica historical El Camino Real bells they placed to mark the route of the California Missions.

IMG_1326 IMG_1328 IMG_1330

The Chapel was very small, and I’ve never seen one that doesn’t have pews in it.

IMG_1334 IMG_1336 IMG_1338

There wasn’t any description of what this painting is or when it was painted, but I THINK it’s supposed to be Jesus. It’s obviously very old.

IMG_1340 IMG_1344

The gardens were pretty small too.

IMG_1352 IMG_1358

After a quick walk through the Mission, we walked around the square.  They had quite a few shops, but not much we wanted to look in.  They did have a small kitchen gadget store where we got these cool covers.  They are silicone and you just lay them on top of your drink or bowls (they have different sizes and we got a pair of 2 for cups and small bowls) and they suction themselves to whatever you put them on and they are pretty strong.  It’s good if you’re outdoors and want to cover your drink and food (I think it only works on round bowls and cups but I haven’t tested that theory yet.) from bugs and other elements.

20131010-113723.jpg

I litterally lifted the bowl with just the handle of that lid.  They’re amazing!

Sunday we spent all day cleaning and had Nick, Gina, and mini Nick over for dinner.  We just had chicken, roasted potatoes and butternut squash, but it was very tasty! While dinner was cooking, Gina, Nick, and I played a round of Doctor Who Yatzee, and my mom joined in on the second round.  We love Yatzee and wanted to play a game.  I should get some more games for the future because that was a lot of fun! (and that is Cars you see on the TV in the background, as usual, was on for the little one.)

20131010-113818.jpg

Poor guy was exhausted from a fun play date before he came over. I just love him!

20131010-113829.jpg

And, I must say I made a pretty epic pumpkin pie for dessert! No it wasn’t very Weight Watchers friendly, but I didn’t have time to look. I used the recipe on the can of Libby’s pumpkin puree and a pre-made graham cracker crust. It was Keebler’s brand and it was a larger size (it says 2 extra servings on the package and it was just PERFECT for the amount of filling it made.). I highly recommend putting the crust on a sheet pan BEFORE filling it becasue I spilled a little trying to get it on there (it’s not a very strong pie pan and it was bowing on me) and bake it on that in the oven.

20131010-113854.jpg

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Day Trip Reports, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

