Fat Shaming Week…

By now I’m sure a lot of you have heard that Fat Shaming Week was an actual thing on Twitter…  Yep.. And some harsh, hurtful, downright unnecessary things were said.

Here is a video from Meghan Tonjes, one of my favorite Youtubers, who is very inspiring to me.

It’s disgusting that this kind of crap is okay.  It seems to be one of the few remaining prejudices that’s okay for people to talk about.  Why? What purpose does it serve to make fun of fat people, to the point of telling someone to EAT A BULLET?! Really? Does it make your life better to say that? I think Meghan explains better than I ever can how I feel about this.

I’ve also noticed it’s much more focused on women than men (in general, not just Twitter). For example, people craping all over Christina Aguilera because she gained some weight but they don’t say a word about CeeLo. I’m not promoting bullying men as much as women. I think it needs to stop all together. (I’m working on a post about this but I’m not sure when it’ll come out)

I’m so tired of the people who “care” about my weight instead of my health. Do they ask how my health is? Nope. They just see my big fat ass and think, oh she’s going to die she’s so unhealthy! That doesn’t help those of us who are over weight. People who do this aren’t making the world a better place.  Like Meghan said, go read a book. Do something actually productive with your life instead of “worrying” about someone else’s weight.

Okay, I’m going to stop but go check out Meghan Tonjes. She’s freaking amazing and I love her so much!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Plus Sized Empowerment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

