Simple Start Details

I had a chance last night to re-read the booklet we got at the Weight Watchers meeting a month or so ago and wanted to give you guys the details on what you need to do.  There is a ton of resources for you if you are a Weight Watchers member.  They have a free app for the iPhone and Android (probably anything that you can download the regular Weight Watchers app would have this app as well).

If you are looking for it, the icon is just like the eTools app but with an orange gradient. You can keep track of your progress on it (I will be using it starting Thursday since I had the gall bladder issues this week) and I will be keeping you updated on my progress like I used to a few years ago.

Weight Watchers online also has articles and information on the program.  I have been getting emails with videos as well but haven’t checked them out, so when I get a minute, I’ll let you know what they are about.

The food is all from the Power Foods list which I’ve shared in the past. The idea is that you eat only from the power foods list (which I’ve written about before and it’s been one of my most popular posts) which I will share below.  You don’t count points for these foods and you don’t have to use portion control.  You eat until you are SATISFIED.  However it is still good to practice portion control.  But as my meeting leader asked last week, how many of you can eat five apples in one sitting?

They also strongly encourage you to eat all of your weekly points for small indulgences and if you want to equal them out per day, you get 7 a day. And for these you DO have to use portion control. My cousin asked last night if we can eat the activity points as well and I would think so but I’m going to ask on Thursday and I’ll let you know the answer to that question too, but my guess is yes…

So what can you eat?

Fruits and most Vegetables

  • All fresh, frozen, or canned WITHOUT added sugar or in its own juice, drained.
  • Potatoes are included as well (french fries are not! I know, I know. I wish they were too!)

Lean Proteins

  • Beans (dried and canned), dried peas, and lentils
  • Lean meats trimmed and skin removed
  • Eggs (whole included)
  • Game meats such as buffalo, ostrich, and venison (none of which you will find on my plate although I had a bite of a buffalo burger once and it wasn’t bad at all),
  • Meat substitutes with 2 grams of fat or less,
  • Most fish and shellfish (they don’t specify so I’ll try to look up the details on that) fresh
  • Organ Meats from beef, lamb, pork, and veal (again, not on my plate…)

Whole Grains

  • Brown and wild rice
  • Hot cereal – without added sugar, dried fruit, or nuts
  • Pasta – Whole wheat or other whole grain varieties
  • Popcorn – plain air-popped, or 94% fat-free microwaved
  • Cold Cereal – without added sugar, dried fruit, nuts, and with 4 grams or more fiber per serving.
  • Whole Grains – barley, bulgur, buckwheat, polenta (cornmeal), quinoa, and whole wheat couscous to name a few.

Fat-Free Dairy & Dairy Substitutes

  • Fat-free Cheese – (I’ll count points for low-fat, thank you very much)
  • Fat-free milk – I’ve been using anyway not that I’m a big milk drinker to begin with.
  • Fat-free yogurt – with no added sugar
  • Fat-free Sour Cream – not my favorite, but works fine in dishes that require sour cream.
  • Fat Free soy cheese – If I’m not going to touch fat-free regular cheese, what makes you think I’ll eat this?!
  • Unflavored soy milk and soy yogurt

Others

  • Light breads such as english muffins, hot dog and hamburger buns, reduced-calorie bread,
  • Broth, onion, and some broth based soups (especially if you make them yourself)
  • Sugar-free gelatin

Seasonings & Condiments

  • Baking powder
  • Baking soda
  • Capers
  • Cocktail sauce
  • Extracts
  • Fat-free margarine
  • Fat-free mayonnaise
  • Fat-free salad dressing
  • Flavorings (I don’t know what that means… Spices and herbs?)
  • Garlic
  • Herbs
  • Hot Sauce
  • Ketchup (YAY! I’m a ketchup fiend!)
  • Lemon and lime juice
  • Mustard
  • Nonstick sprays for baking and cooking
  • Salsa – they mention fat-free, I don’t know of a salsa that has fat in it… Am I missing something?
  • Shallots
  • Soy sauce
  • Spices
  • Steak sauce
  • Sugar substitutes
  • Taco sauce
  • Teriyaki sauce
  • Vinegar
  • Worcestershire sauce

Healthy Oils (Count points after your daily 2 teaspoons)

  • Olive
  • Canola
  • Safflower
  • Sunflower
  • Flaxseed

What doesn’t count?

  • Dried Fruits and Vegetables, and juice
  • Fruits and Vegetables prepared with non Power Food ingredients
  • Avocados
  • French fries (You’re no fun!)
  • olives
  • plantains
  • pickled vegetables (at least dill pickles are pretty much free anyway, unless you eat the whole jar, then congrats on being bloated for the next month!)
  • Canned fish and shellfish packed in oil
  • Breaded meat and fish, or with added fat
  • Processed meats such as hot dogs

If you are an active member of Weight Watchers, anything with a green pyramid.  You can look those foods up on eTools if you have it either on your computer or on your phone if you have the app, or on the books they sell at meetings.

If you have any questions, please leave them in the comments section and I’d be happy to try to find out for you.  I hope this helps and makes it easy for all of us to live healthier lives.

Hopefully I’ll have some ideas to share that I came up with (I’ll also share some they had in the booklet and online if I find ones that look good to me) and share them with tomorrow’s meeting post.

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Motivation, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

