Weight Watchers Weigh In

Not that I had to go or anything, I decided I wanted to go to my Weight Watchers meeting last Thursday.  I lost 4.2 pounds and I was a little surprised because I have been bloated from the surgery but it must just be air or something.  Maybe it’s just the fact that I’m not back to 100% (not that I was there before with the bad gall bladder and everything) but I did have surgery so it’s not at the top of my list of things I need to worry about.  It was still awesome to see that weight go down though!

Anyway, I’m continuing to do a little better each day and I’m sure you’re all thinking, alright, enough with the surgery stuff, so I’ll try to keep it at a minimum.

I’ve been thinking a little lately about how I didn’t set any new year’s resolutions and I have a few in mind I want to set since this is kind of the fresh start to my new year. I’ll go over the list of what I’ve been thinking about and hope to accomplish this year.

Night Time Routine – I’ve never been good at washing my face or taking my make up off. I brush my teeth but at least but I haven’t bothered with taking care of my face and I must say I was lucky enough to not have much of an acne problem growing up.  I went through the normal teen hormonal period everyone does but it was one of a few of God’s graces that I received. I guess he figured I had a lot of other crap to deal with physically that he’d give me a break on that end… Now that I’m 30, I really need to be diligent with taking care of my skin so I’m doing some research on a good cleanser and moisturizer that isn’t too expensive.

I did splurge on a $50 jar of eye cream that had great reviews and I had a 20$ coupon from Ulta so it only ended up costing me $40.  Plus, the lady said it’ll last me at least 5 months and seeing the tiny bit I needed putting it on tonight, it might last even longer.  I have extremely dark circles under my eyes and I’ve been told by multiple people at places like Ulta and at the make-up counters in Macy’s and Nordstrom that using a good eye cream helps that a lot.

I haven’t found a cleanser or moisturizer that I love and every time I turn I do any research the only ones that seem to be worth a damn are expensive as hell so I’m hoping to find something I’ll really like that is affordable enough.  I am difficult too in the fact that I have tried a ton of moisturizers that I have reacted very badly to because my skin is SUPER sensitive and I get a headache from most fragrances…

I will say that Clinique has a clarifying lotion (it’s used as a toner) that I have used (when I am diligent about washing my face) and my mom has used probably since I was a baby if not longer and it’s the best toner I’ve ever used.  That being said, I decided to get their cleanser and moisturizer.  I am not crazy about the fact that they test on animals so I may try something else after I finish these bottles.  But they are very well known for skin care and their prices are affordable enough.

Organization – I want to take my time with this one.  It’s been something I’ve wanted to do but I procrastinate because I’m not quite sure what to do and I get overwhelmed so I’m taking it in small steps. I started by organizing our medicine cabinet.  I know it’s not that big but I could never find my stuff.  Things seemed to move around.  So now my mom’s stuff is in one part and mine in the other.

Health – With my gall bladder out-of-the-way and not having to worry about what I eat, I still want to eat healthy and continue my weight loss.  I succumbed to the powers of At-Home-Shopping and bought a NutriBullet Pro.  My cousin has one and loves it and I really need to get more fruits and vegetables in my diet and I figured it would help… But in general, I’m going to continue trying to eat healthier.  I also am looking forward to getting back into my walks at work and starting up at the gym.  I have to clear out my old iPod so my mom can use it while she’s with me.  The gym we signed up at has loud music playing and I know both of us would rather choose what we listen to while working out.

Anyway, that’s about it.  They are pretty big changes to make so I don’t want to overwhelm myself.  Plus, it’s 12:30 and I have to get ready for bed!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Life, Motivation, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

