Weight Watchers and the Lenten Season’s Back Again

I actually managed to lose .8 lbs last Thursday (I’ve been writing this post since last Thursday!) and I’m trying to lower my sugar consumption as it’s getting overboard and I know the more I eat, the more I want.  It’s frustrating and I really do want to eat healthy but it’s hard when there are temptations around everywhere and you’re addicted to food… I was doing well so I know I can get back there.

So the meeting was about moving more.  I’ve been doing fairly well at it.  I walk at least 4 days per week at work and at least twice (usually the morning break and lunch) and try to get in three, it just depends on how busy I am.  It helps to have a walking partner.  I am working on being better at going to the gym.  I’ve been going about twice a week so I know I need to up that.  The meeting more specifically was about getting up and moving around for 5 minutes every hour but as a person that works at her desk all day, it’s not really possible to do. HOWEVER, I do work on little things at work so I’m not seeing around all day.  When I print things out I get up and pick up each piece I print out, or print documents at a printer a little farther away.  I go to the downstairs bathroom and use the stairs.  One idea I got at the meeting was to drink more water, that way you have to use the restroom more so it forces you to get up more.

Other than work, more ideas we got were to park farther away when going to a store, take a walk around the store before picking up the items you need, take more trips to the car when bringing your groceries in.  Walk around your home while the commercials are on, or just walk in place if you don’t have much room.  Also, if you have those stair steppers or a Wii board, you can use that too.  I have Wii Fit and they had a setting where your controller would make ticking noises and you could go for 5, 10 or 20 (might have been other options) minutes of stair stepping with the board and it lets you watch TV while you’re doing it.  I should get back into that…  I know there are other ways of getting more walking in but my brain isn’t working right now!

For Lent I decided I am going to give up soda.  I also want to go to mass more often as I haven’t really been going since I moved out of my aunt’s house and I know I feel better when I go.  As Catholics, we don’t eat meat on Fridays during lent so I’ll have to figure out some things to have for those days.  I see a lot of egg and tuna salad sandwiches in my future…

We had a pretty busy weekend.  I got a dress a couple of weeks ago for my friend’s wedding and we went to the mall nearby with Nick and Gina and I got a couple of tops and a shrug to go over the dress HOWEVER, I might return it because I’m not sure I like the length or the size… My mom and I also went to brunch with a couple of my dad’s cousins that were visiting for the day and it was nice to catch up with them.

Other than that, I’m just trying to get used to the time change.  This morning when I woke up to get ready for work it was just too eerie and dark… Didn’t help that it was raining.  I can’t wait until it gets light again in the mornings… I do have a couple of reviews coming up as well as some recipes I am contemplating on sharing.  One is a french toast bake that I loved so that one is a definite share but the other meals were just okay… So look out for those in the next few days!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Life, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

