Linguini with Mushroom Garlic Alfredo Sauce

Untitled

What’s this?! A recipe?!  Yep!!!  I actually tried something new that I really liked.  Could possibly even love it!  I’m not normally a cream sauce kind of gal but I grabbed a Smart Ones Chicken fettuccine Alfredo at the store for lunch the other day and was thinking to myself (because let’s be honest, it was barely edible, but it had 20 grams of protein and figured it would stay with me better than a lot of the other ones…) I can do way better at home so I decided to try making an alfredo sauce but lightened up.

I looked at a few recipes to get ideas and decided to try it with cream cheese for thickening.  I did add a little cream too but I’m leaving it out of the recipe because it wasn’t needed.  To me the cream cheese added more flavor and that’s one of the reasons I don’t like Alfredo sauce, it’s usually too bland for my palate.  So onto the recipe… Oh, and I used linguine because I prefer it over fettuccine but use whatever you’d like.

  • 1 lb linguine (or whatever type of pasta you prefer)
  • 1 8 oz brick low fat cream cheese
  • 1 cup 1% milk (you can try fat free but it doesn’t affect the points.  We just have 1% on hand as my mom is the milk drinker in my family, not me…)
  • 1/4-1/3 cup chopped italian (flat leaf) parsley
  • 4-6 cloves garlic minced (I put 6 in and it had a good garlic flavor so if you’re sensitive, use less)
  • 1/2 cup shredded romano or parmesan
  • 12 or so mushrooms sliced (I cut them in 1/2 then sliced also so the pieces were smaller)
  • 1-2 teaspoons olive oil or butter
  • salt and pepper to taste

Put a pot of water on to boil for the pasta. When water boils, cook pasta until desired doneness.

Heat the butter in a good sized sauce pan on a relatively high heat to cook the mushrooms.  I like them a browned a bit to add flavor so I do usually cook them a little high and stir fairly often to keep from burning. Set mushrooms aside.

Add garlic to cook for a couple of seconds stirring frequently in a little cooking spray if the pan is too dry, add milk, cream, and cream cheese.  Cook until cream cheese dissolves and sauce is heated through.  Add romano cheese and stir until melted.  If the sauce is too thick, add a little water.  Salt and pepper to taste. Toss with cooked drained pasta.

Untitled

As you can see in the picture, I threw in some Aidell’s Chicken Meatballs but I didn’t add them to the recipe because I hated them!  I wanted protein but they weren’t worth wasting the points.  So ignore them.  I do recommend adding some sort of protein such as chicken or cooked sausage or having the pasta on the side with your meal since pasta doesn’t exactly stay with you but if you are looking for a nice indulgent tasting meal, this isn’t too bad for the points.  I will say you do get protein from the sauce (unlike with tomato based sauces unless you put a lot of meat in them) but remember to factor in the points if you do.

Also pictured is my mom’s green beans with shallots and garlic which is probably my favorite all time vegetable so I’ll post a recipe for that soon.  It’s a quick one but I need to figure out the points and measurements for it before sharing.

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

