Recipe- Roasted Vegetables

I’m on a roll at the moment! This recipe is a bit of a work in progress but I was inspired by this recipe I found on Pinterest.  I did originally do exactly what the recipe showed and it was amazing but I wanted to tailor it to the vegetables my family enjoys and making more of it because our roasting pan is huge. This recipe is a work in progress and if I get to a point where I perfect it, I will update it.  I’m more interested in the the roasted vegetables so that’s what this is and I happened to add sausages like the original recipe shows but I’m sure you can have this with chicken, pork, or whatever you’d like.

  • 1 large onion cut into chunks
  • 4 large carrots cut into 2-inch chunks
  • 1 red bell pepper sliced
  • 2 cups Brussels sprouts cut in 1/2
  • 6 small red potatoes quartered
  • 1 yam or sweet potato in good sized chunks
  • 1 dozen mushrooms quartered
  • 4-6 cloves garlic pressed it very finely minced
  • 1 can chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon each dried Rosemary, thyme, oregano, and basil
  • Salt and black pepper

Heat the oven to 450. Prep all of the vegetables except for the yam (takes way less than the rest of the vegetables) and throw in a big roasting pan, salt and pepper generously. Mix the broth, olive oil, garlic, and herbs in a bowl and pour over the vegetables. Mix the vegetables with the broth mixture and cover with foil. Bake for 45 minutes to an hour until vegetables are fork tender.

Untitled

I added sausages like the original recipe but since I wanted to have something less fattening, I used Aidells Chicken Mango Sausages.

Untitled

I cut them in 1/2 and browned them in a pan for a couple of minutes then added them when the vegetables were done.

I got a new Misto Sprayer and I really need to learn how to use it but it works okay. I figured it’s much healthier for you than the spray cans.

UntitledI added the sausages and yams to the vegetables, stirred them around a bit and put the pan back in the oven uncovered for another 30-45 minutes or until the yams are done. Keep in mind I have a crappy oven and everything takes longer so everything may be quicker (45 minutes for the raw vegetables, and maybe 20-30 minutes for the yams) in your much better oven. (Trust me, it’s better.)

There was a little too much liquid and I would like the vegetables to be more browned but it tasted good.

Untitled

This easily made 6 servings of vegetables and that came out to 4 points plus per serving (Not including sausage or other meat). Again, needs a little work but it’s not bad I really enjoyed it and had left overs for the next couple of days.

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

