Motivation · Organization · Weight Watchers

Weight Watchers- Tiny Steps to Success

This week I had a hard time controlling my eating and ended up gaining 1 pound.  It was just a rough week, I had the emotional part for a few days and the rest of the week I was constantly hungry. So I paid for it, but it’s over and we’re onto another week.

This week’s topic was about taking small steps to get to your goals.  Our leader passed around a ream of paper and had us all guess how much it weighed but I had a bit of an unfair advantage since I used to work in a mailroom and lifted them all the time and I thought I remembered them being 5 pounds per ream and it turns out I was correct.

She used the ream of paper as a symbol that you can’t rip the whole thing at once, but you can do one sheet at a time no problem and that really is a good point.  Taking baby steps makes reaching your goals easier and it’s something I forget and really should focus on.

I have made baby steps that I stick with like eventually removing fast-food (my bad habit places at least as I go to Panda, since there are healthy options, and maybe 2-3 times per year to In-n-Out still but I can handle myself with those two restaurants) from my eating and I’ve been without fast food for over a year now.

I miss Taco Bell on occasion, especially when I’m driving by and I’m starving, but I just force myself to stop thinking about it because I can’t go back there.  If I start eating Taco Bell again, I’ll order enough food for 3 or 4 people, then I’ll start doing the same at McDonalds, Jack in the Box, Wendy’s, etc.  I can’t do that to myself.  I consider that a baby step because at first, I allowed myself to have it on Thursdays after weigh in and I just eventually stopped all together.

A baby step I’m working on right now is removing processed foods from my life.  I won’t say that I’ll do that 100 percent but I do want to eventually get to a point where I’m making most of my meals and eating out less.  I’ve done well but I have some moments.

Anyway, I do want to make some goals for actually losing weight thought so I’m going to make a baby step of one- tracking everything and two- losing 1 pound per week. If I stick to tracking religiously, I know I’ll lose at least a pound per week.

Another thing she mentioned is celebrating your accomplishments.  This is something I have trouble doing but I am going to come up with a list and I may have it as a top ten for next week.

For now, I should go because I’m spending the night at my brother’s home while he’s going to the bay area so my sister-in-law and I can get my nephew’s bedroom organized so I better get to bed so I’m ready for tomorrow!

What are your mini goals? Do you have a favorite way to celebrate successes? 

Leave a comment