Organization Progress

Well I think I made up for not doing anything the weekend before last. Friday night I spent the night at my brother’s while he went to the Bay Area so my sister-in-law and I could work on little Nick’s bedroom and get that organized.  Saturday is when we worked on his room and by the time my mom got up to their place, we were as done as Gina wanted to be so we went out to lunch and a quick trip to Target before parting ways because we all got up really early and were beat.

I honestly forgot what happened most of the rest of the day. I know we went to Whole Foods for a minute and ate at my favorite French Creperie before going home and I’m pretty sure I fell asleep almost immediately.

Sunday morning, I woke up with the urge to start work on my room and I got a lot done.  I managed to clear up a ton of crap in my room, got the closet doors off of the hinges so I can hang up a tension rod with curtains (it gives me more room), put together two Kallax Shelving units I got at Ikea, and some laundry.

For most of the day I was doing really well and I was totally on a roll but when I went down to get my first load of laundry out of the wash, I opened the door to our small laundry room that we share with our neighbors and the floor of the laundry room was covered in 1/2 of a large carton of liquid laundry soap.

Apparently the almost full bottle of laundry detergent I just bought fell off of the washing machine and the top flew off and 1/2 of the contents spewed all over the floor.

I was amazed that it took less than an hour to clean up the mess.  And being that the floor is cement, it’s not slippery and feels like nothing ever happened, thank God!

But with all of that work, my thighs and arms are super sore.  Each box weights 56 lbs and I had to lug them up a flight of stairs on a hand truck because the wheels helped it move up each step a little easier.  I had to do this twice and with the combination of that and squatting for 45 minutes to clean up 1/2 of a tub of goo gave me quite the workout.

It reminds me that I need to start exercising. Big time!

Anyway, I’m going to end it there because it’s late, and I found out some really sad news tonight that I can’t talk about just yet because I need to wait until the people who need to know find out. I’ll probably talk about it tomorrow.

Have you been to Ikea before? Do you have as much fun as I do putting furniture together?

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Life, Organization and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

