Mixing Simply Filling and Points

I had a fun weekend.

Untitled

Untitled

We spent the night at my cousins’ home in the East Bay and had a great time, and even got a few minutes to relax by the pool, although we didn’t GO in the pool as it was still too cold to do that. But it was perfect for sitting and looking at the amazing view!

Untitled

I love their back yard.

When we got back home we ran into Trader Joe’s to get a few things then ran over to the movie theater to see Cinderella which was amazing! I love the vivid colors of the movie and storyline wasn’t too different from the animated version.  We did have two people who sat right next to us in an empty theatre that were loud the entire movie and I was trying hard not to let it bother me.  I shushed them loud enough that they should have heard several times but nothing… That kind of disrespect BUGS me, but the movie was great. I’ll probably get it when it comes out on BluRay.

Untitled

So I decided after my gain last weight in that I’m going to try doing Simply Filling but I know how I am when I am on it (I was the same way on Core only worse because it was even more strict) so I decided to experiment a bit.  I’m going to split my days between Simply Filling and counting Points.  I’m more than 1/2 way through my tracking week and it’s worked out so far. I am going to do the Simply Filling plan on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Fridays and Track on Thursdays and the Weekends.

I’m not going to be religious with sticking to this because there will be days when I’ll need to do Tracking instead due to whatever may be going on. For instance, we are going to Fresno for a long weekend for Easter and it would just be easier on everyone for me to track points instead of doing Simply Filling.  Work weeks are easier because I have more control over what I eat.

That’s the great thing about Weight Watchers now because when it was Core and the old Points, you had to do them a week at a time and couldn’t switch between the two. I’m hoping this will just get me to eat more fruits and vegetables and just healthier in general so I feel better by the trip.

I’m very happy doing Simply Filling (part time) because I get to have the following for lunch and I only have to count 2 of my weekly Points Plus for the dressing and low-fat cheese (I don’t do fat free or soy cheese!)

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

First, here’s what I got at Trader Joe’s and Raley’s yesterday (I have a 4-day work week so it worked out for four meals):

Trader Joe’s:

  • Lite Shredded Mexican Blend cheese (I was in a hurry…)
  • Organic Persian cucumbers (comes with 8 “cuces” so that works out to 2 per day.
  • Corn Tortillas- (some corn tortillas are acceptable on the Simply Filling plan, they just need to be low fat)
  • 4 organic bananas

Raley’s:

  • A container of 2 small heads of romaine lettuce (1/2 per day gives you PLENTY!)
  • 4 bulk carrots (one for each day)
  • 1 lb of lean ground beef (I found 7% at Raley’s and they have 5% at TJ’s but I’m wary of buying their meat) to make 4 patties.
  • Needed ingredients for the dressing.
  • 4 apples

So that was mostly for lunch. I forgot lite english muffins for breakfast and I was going to make hard-boiled eggs but again, forgot. I bought a bunch of yogurts that are simply filling (they were low sugar and fat free from Yoplait, they have the 2 points plus label on them too, but do a search of what brands are okay.  I think as long as it’s lower sugar and fat free, it’s okay) so I grabbed two of those for the morning and through one of them in the freezer for an afternoon snack. I also made baked “fries” to go with the burgers.

Just having a yogurt (even being a Greek yogurt with more protein) and a banana wasn’t enough for me so I ate lunch earlier than I’d like so I definitely need to add the egg at least to my breakfast so I can last a little longer.

I’m trying to get at least a little exercise in each day too. Monday I got in a 1/2 hour walk as well as a 15 minute exercise dvd from Weight Watchers and I am now sore from doing that so it definitely had an effect on me! So we will see how much I can do when I really stick to it.

The work week is already 1/2 way done and I’m really looking forward to my long Easter weekend and getting away from home again. We both need to just get away.

Anyway, I have lots to do so I better end it here. I’ll let you know how I do on Thursday! I hope it goes well because I’m feeling bloated right now!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Life, Motivation, Vacation, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

