Unpacking, Crafts, and Other Fun Stuff

Hello again! Happy almost Thursday!

We have gotten quite a bit unpacked in our apartment and are feeling like we can live comfortably enough and do normal stuff in our apartment which is a nice feeling.  I am slowly getting my desk set up and I’m absolutely itching to do some artsy stuff and It’s almost finished but not quite. I’m at the point where I can at least use my laptop at my desk which is what I am doing at the moment while listening to the Madeline Peyroux radio station on Pandora.

I am one of those people (maybe it’s just me actually…) that gets so invested in a hobby or craft that I end up spending a lot in it and never really finish more than a project or two and then I get bored with it over time until I discover the next craft.  I still crochet on occasion and should do more often but it’s hard to want to when it’s 100 degrees outside! I don’t exactly want a blanket on my lap that I’m working on because there’s no where else to put the finished part of it. But it is still a craft that I enjoy I just need to remember that I do enjoy it… In the Fall and Winter especially!

I also REALLY got into scrapbooking probably over 10 years ago when it was huge! I spent plenty on that stuff and finished 3 of them.  I have officially gotten rid of most of my scrapbooking supplies including a ton of scrapbooking paper, a large set of patterned scissors that cut shapes into the paper which I NEVER used, and some other random scrapbooking stuff.  I did keep a few things I can use with other crafting projects like stickers, glue tape, and stuff like that but I can use that in other areas like my short stint Glam Planning which again, I didn’t stick with. I am not the best with keeping a routine going in case you couldn’t tell! There have been many others but I won’t bore you with that!

My most recent interest is another form of planning.  It’s called bullet journaling.  It is way cheaper than getting an Erin Condren planner (which I LOVE but didn’t use 1/2 the time and they are around 65-70 bucks!) With bullet journaling you can use any journal you have on hand and make it your own. Don’t ask me to explain it because I still don’t really know. I do know you can start any time you want, it doesn’t have to be in January and since I’m so close to July, I am starting on Friday with it.  I have a journal already (I have several unused journals, are you surprised by that?!) and plenty of colorful pens, stickers, and washi tape to decorate with so I’m already set to go! I think it might help me with my budgeting too, and my eating habits which you can incorporate, along with anything else you would want to add, into your bullet journal.

Onto other things, I’m trying to slowly get out of emotional eating (a life long struggle!) and finding ways to self-care. I am an emotional person so things can really get to me and I need to change that.  I don’t want to be like that anymore and it’s not healthy for me.  I’ve been doing pretty good with planning breakfasts and lunches which is helping financially and living off of cash alone is becoming a habit for me.

Sister-in-law had another round of chemo today so she’ll be going through her bad days this weekend poor thing.  Continued thoughts and prayers are much appreciated.

We are on the fence for 4th of July plans. We have a few ideas in mind so we’ll see how that ends up. We’ll probably be going to the Bay Area one day to take my uncle out for lunch for his birthday. And my birthday falls the third weekend of July (well that Monday…) and I’m trying to decide what I want to do that day.  Ideas are day trip to Tahoe, San Francisco, or somewhere else not too far away.  We are starting to look into how much  weekend trip would cost to Tahoe too for maybe early September which would be nice.  Haven’t had a trip there in years!

Anyway, that’s about it from me, I hope you all have a wonderful Independence Day weekend and I’ll post again soon!

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Life, Motivation, Organization and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

