Getting Back on Track

I know I mention it every time I post but I’m sorry for being gone so long.  Not only to the people who read my blog but to myself as well because I know it’s helpful for me to journal, even if it isn’t overly personal, I still feel like it’s an outlet for me.

My family has been dealing with a lot in the last couple of months and last Monday, my sister-in-law, Gina, lost her battle with cancer.  She died in her sleep and we knew she didn’t have long but we didn’t think it would be that fast. We are still raw and in shock that she went so fast.  She touched so many peoples lives and I feel very lucky that she was part of my life for as short of a time as it was. I miss her so much and feel angry that my nephew had to lose his mother at such a young age. I’m angry too that my brother became a 27 year-old widower.  It’s just so wrong.

Anyway, I’ve been keeping up with going to at least weigh in at meetings but I’ve had other things going on the last few Thursdays and I don’t have enough time to sit in for a meeting on my 1/2 hour lunch break when I do have to go at that time. I did stay for this week’s meeting which is a topic I’m always needing to work on and that is clutter. Not just physical, but mental clutter.

If you’ve been reading for a while you know that I go to Fresno every year for this big block yard sale my aunt’s neighborhood holds in May so being that it’s so close, it’s something I need to really work on and I think if I can really get a handle on the physical clutter, it can help with the mental clutter.  So my plan for Sunday is to get a good chunk of that out of the way so I have some of my crap to bring down there.

She also talked to us about stresses and what we can do to keep stress from getting the better of us, not just eating out of stress, but for our own mental sanity.  I am reading up on meditation and want to start doing meditation at least 10 minutes a day but I guess I don’t know how to start.  Do I just sit and pay attention to my breathing or what do I do? I have been researching and looking to see if there are any podcasts or apps that are good for meditation where I don’t have to spend money (or not much) to help me get started.

That’s about it from me. My goal is to just get a post out per week on the Weight Watchers topics and anything going on in my life, may be late next week and I won’t be able to make a full on meeting because Gina’s rosary is that Thursday but I will get an idea of what was talked about from the weekly handout.

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Life, Organization and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

