Switching Things Up with Simply Filling

I haven’t been doing well lately with tracking and I’ve been eating a lot of processed foods and eating things I probably should stay away from so I decided to give my body a break from the junk food and try out Simply Filling.

If you don’t know, Simply Filling, is Weight Watchers non-tracking plan.  You can eat as much of the Simply Filling foods as you need and not track those foods.  You still get your weeklies for foods that aren’t on the list to use throughout the day and you can do this day by day instead of week by week. So the plan is to track points on weekends so I have flexiblity and follow simply filling during the week.

I did write a post several years ago on what Simply Filling is when they were still counting Points Plus and I think the plan is still the same. So if you’d like to read into what Simply Filling is all about, click here. I think in a week or two (once I get a little more familiar with the Simply Filling plan) I’m going to get another post together to give you an update on the Simply Filling plan as I took a quick look over that post I linked to and it is pretty old so it would probably be good to get a refreshed post out.

I did the Simply Filling method about 1/2 of this week. The plan was to track on the weekends and do simply filling on the weekdays.  We did end up going to a family friends’ pizza restaurant and I knew except for salad (minus dressing), there wouldn’t be anything for me to eat.  I kept thinking, what can I get before so I have my dinner and in the end, I just decided to track that day and have pizza for dinner.  So that is my favorite part of this and I can live my life without being a pain in the butt or inconveniencing myself and my family in the process.

So far the days I did do Simply Filling, I have felt very satisfied and I felt like I didn’t have a weight tied to me with tracking, and how many points is that, and obsessing over everything and it feels more like a lifestyle change than the points do to me.  It also makes the days that I do track like less of a hassle because I don’t have to do it every day.

I will say though I am still having a hard time with cravings.  When the pizza was in front of my face, I ate way more than I care to admit, and the following day my brother and nephew came to visit after school and he got a Little Caesar’s pizza and I ate a couple of pieces of that. (I also had a couple of donuts at work Thursday because my co-worker brought them in) so I have some work to do on controlling myself around certain foods.

Ironically enough, I’m really tired of pizza but you put it in front of my face and I turn into Mr. Hyde!

That being said, I wasn’t expecting much from my weigh-in on Thursday and MUCH to my surprise, I lost 5.4 pounds! I did a double take and looked at the woman weighing me in and she told me how much and I was just so stunned.  I think I’m going to stick with tracking points on the weekends and simply filling during the weekdays then adjust as needed because it definitely seems to be a better fit for me at the moment.

I am really excited about trying new things and seeing where this road takes me and I will definitely keep you all posted on my progress.

About Shannon

I'm a 30 something Disney Addict, Healthy Living enthusiast finding my way in California's capital.
This entry was posted in Life, Motivation, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

